Thank You For Loving The Broken Parts of Me

January 22, 2013 at 12:08 pm (Uncategorized)

I spend many nights, prowling around the house, seeking comfort from trigeminal neuralgia pain, just enough to get a little sleep.  I have learned to be quiet as a mouse so I don’t wake up my darling hubby, DannyO.  I have figured out how to put the microwave on silent so I can heat my rice bag quietly.  I have my house memorized so I don’t have to put any lights on.  I pace and pray, pray and pace…  I have been sick with MS and TN for 23 of our 33 years together.  That’s a long time!!

The other night I realized that I had forgotten to let Dan know what my day was going to look like.  It is our habit, after almost 33 years, to let one another know where we will be during the day.  (He will say, “I’m going to start in Johnstown.”  I will say, “I have to go to Donnie’s and then to the grocery store.”)

I proceeded to write him a note, rambling in parts (hey, I was exhausted!!), but listing what my plans were for the day.  I finally was able to get to sleep.  The next morning, I didn’t wake until Dan was already gone for work.  He wrote his note  to me on the blank side of my note.  As I re-read my note, I realized that, in my exhaustion, I wrote something very profound…  after detailing my plans for the day, I simply wrote, “Thank you for loving the broken parts of me.”   He does and I am overwhelmed to think that, after all these years, it is still the truth.

Thank you for loving the broken parts of me

Me and Darling DannyO

Me and Darling DannyO

1 Comment

  1. Danielle said,

    That is profound for sure, for any and every marriage that sticks together until the end, it’s true!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

