Amelia’s Legacy

June 26, 2008 at 9:08 am (Memories)

My Grandma Amelia was a strong woman.  She was an artist, a poet, a musician.  She had plastic curtains on the windows in her very dusty and cluttered house, but she had many outside rooms filled with flowers and two goldfish ponds.  That is where she spent most of her days.  She taught me how to make maple syrup and how to arrange flowers.  From her example I learned how to be a performer and to express my opinion “in Christian love.”

She was killed by a drunk driver when I was 10 – she was 54 – in 1969.  She LOVED her Lord and Savior.  

I don’t have many pictures of her because she was the photographer.  I found one that represents my best memory of her.

Debbie, me, Susan and Grandma

 (That’s me, second from the left)

She encouraged strength of character, artistic expression, love of family and God.  She also hated laziness.  That is the sum of what she taught me in the few years she was in my life.  Pretty powerful life lessons.  I have one more legacy — a few of her flowers.  They survived 20 years of neglect after she was killed and my Dad and I rescued them before her house was sold. 

Every year they bloom, their color and fragrance remind me of her precious life.  I believe she is even now with God praying for me. I WILL see her again!! 

 

1 Comment

  1. Sacha said,

    What a great legacy!

Leave a Reply

