Jesus Died For Them Too

June 28, 2008 at 9:22 am (Musings...)

I must admit, I can be judgmental.  It is something that I must continually work on.  I always told my kids that first (second, third )impressions DO matter.  But if I’m going to live out my faith, they CAN’T matter to me. 

I grew up in a home where cards, movies, drinking, dancing were all bad.  I didn’t know why, they just were.  When I married my darling hubby, his family did all of those things and I had to adjust my thinking to function in his big, wonderful family!!

I’ve come to realize that, unless you have accepted the wonderful gift of Jesus, you don’t have a compass regarding this behavior.  If you are a born-again person, this stuff comes under “working out your salvation.” 

All of that to say this…  We went out (AGAIN!!) to a “Thunder in the Valley” evening in Johnstown.  This kind of celebration draws many people, from all walks of life, in all stages of life. 

I saw HUGE tatoos, HUGE boobs, HUGE rolls (showing because people were wearing something they should have checked out in the mirror before they left their house).  People were in various states of intoxication.  There were also happy families and children. 

When I saw someone who made a very questionable first impression on me, my first thought was, “Ewwww!!  or Gross… or Yuck!!!”  But then the Lord impressed upon my heart, “Jesus died for them too!”  That put me in my place.  Quite frankly, after three or four of these rebukes, I was tired of being spiritually reprimanded, so I stopped saying “Ewwww” to myself 🙂 and just enjoyed the atmosphere. 

Lesson learned… for the moment.  Hey, I am under grace and still learning at 48.

A good time was had by all and again, because we are old, we were home by {{gasp!!}} 11:00.  If we weren’t old, we’d go back down to Johnstown tonight, but we are… so we won’t. 🙂

Leave a Reply

