Where Spaghetti Sauce Does Not Destroy

July 1, 2008 at 7:31 pm (Memories, Musings..., Scripture References)

“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal.  But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.  For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”  Matthew 6:19-21

That should read, “where spaghetti sauce does not destroy”

I LOVE shoes!!!  I look for reasons to buy shoes.  The first thing I notice about people are their shoes.  I have a closet full of shoes.  If there is one thing I would covet… it would be a great pair of shoes. 

Since my MS has progressed, I’ve had to give up wearing any heels.  {{Sigh!!}} {{Alas!!}}  I have had a good reason to buy new shoes — I can only wear flats now and my closet was full of 2 1/2- 3 inch-heeled fabulous shoes 😦

To my story…  I found a pair of shoes at DSW and waited until they went on sale to buy them.  I LOVE these shoes!!  I wore them proudly to church and even more proudly into Walmart… where I proceeded to drop a jar of spaghetti sauce…  you guessed it… all over my shoes.  Forget the fact that there was glass all over the floor.  Forget the fact that spaghetti sauce was dripping from the shelves and people were traipsing through it.  “HOW WAS I GOING TO GET THE SHOES CLEAN?!?!?”

God is Good, he had mercy for me and my shoes.  My dear son worked at a shoe store and we had canvas cleaner on hand.  After scrubbing very carefully for about 30 minutes, they were good as new, but I was reminded of the verse I quoted you as I was scrubbing them clean… 

See??  Good as new!!Where is my treasure??  In a pair of shoes??  I hope and pray not!!

See??  Good as New!!

 

 

 

 

I also wanted to share with you another picture of my Grandma Amelia — on her wedding day…  check out her cool shoes!!  I remember seeing this picture and thinking, “what a cool veil and what fabulous shoes!!”

 

1 Comment

  1. Kristin said,

    Hooray for shoe cleaner! They look great. I probably would have cried.

Leave a Reply

