Surrounded, Lifted, Covered

July 9, 2008 at 2:46 pm (Musings..., Scripture References)

Yesterday, as I was praying for someone specifically, the Lord impressed upon me that I needed to pray for them to simply be “surrounded, lifted, and covered.”  That became my prayer.

As I was reading my devotions today, I was encouraged to find verses to correlate with my specific prayer…

Surround – “The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear Him, and He delivers them.”  Psalm 34:7

Lift – “He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire, He set my feet on a rock, and gave me a firm place to stand.  He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God.”  Psalm 40:2,3

Cover – “He will cover you with His feathers, and under His wings you will find refuge.”  Psalm 91:4

I would encourage you, if you don’t know how to pray for someone, pray this prayer.

As I have fasted and prayed today specifically for my husband, children (both biological and spiritual 🙂 ), sisters, parents, et al, I have added to my request, that each precious person I am lifting up in prayer is “Surrounded, Lifted, Covered.”

1 Comment

  1. Kristin said,

    So I thought you would like to know that I memorized Colossians 3:15 after you posted the other day! I related a little too well! 🙂 And these verses were also encouraging today as I have prayed through the same words!

Leave a Reply

