Awake Early and Chocolate Cupcakes

July 11, 2008 at 6:25 am (Musings...)

I was up at 5:00 a.m., not by choice, but by pain.  My spasticity must have been especially bad through the night because the pain woke me up.  {{Sigh}}  A really good cup of coffee is brewing now.  Once that nectar courses through my veins, I will feel a little bit more human.  Hopefully, the pain will go away once I do some yoga 🙂

Coffee reminded me of what I wanted to let all of you know.  I LOVE chocolate cupcakes — but I am like most women and use the boxed cake mix, because it is easy and… well… good.  Anyway, I found something that makes the cupcakes taste better!!  Instead of the water called for in the recipe (along with oil and eggs), I use leftover coffee!!  It seems to deepen the flavor of the chocolate and makes the cupcakes simply divine!!

Coffee is finished brewing and a chocolate cupcake is calling my name.  Breakfast is at the ready!!  Does anyone want to join me??

4 Comments

  1. libby said,

    I wish I was close enough TO join you! =)

  2. Kristin said,

    Hmm…I think I know what I’m having for dinner now!

  3. Dorothy said,

    What a great idea Melodye! I love coffee-flavored anything…my favorite is ice cream.
    Years ago there was a coffee-flavored syrup sold in our local Acme supermarket.
    It was really good on ice cream. Can’t wait to try your recipe! Hope you feel better.

    Dorothy

  4. Amanda Olsavsky said,

    mom… mom… share the wealth! Are you coming down the weekend of the 25th?

    Love you dearly.

Leave a Reply

