Same Song, Different Verse

July 12, 2008 at 9:24 am (Musings..., Scripture References)

I seem to struggle with things over and over again.  Take my struggle with OCD.  I get a handle on it, manage it for a while, but then…  My multiple sclerosis is kicking my butt right now, but sometimes I cope with it just fine. 

As this pertains to me spiritually, Satan is very sneaky.  God has allowed him access to my life, he knows my weaknesses as well as I know them.  However, the way Satan works, is he comes at a different angle and attacks me in a “new” way.  I slip beneath the surface, struggle to wrestle back spiritual control, then come up for air. 

It is usually at that point, and usually after a LONG battle, that I realize that the song (weakness) is the same, but the verse (Satan’s attack point) is different!!!  Oh to recognize this dark song the moment it is sung!  With full realization, I could have dealt differently and then perhaps not slipped beneath that ugly, slimy surface again!!  Unfortunately, damage is done but is the lesson learned??  Perhaps for the moment…

My prayer is that I will recognize Satan’s sorry song as soon as the first note is sung, call him on it in the Name of Jesus, and avoid all of the damage done to myself.

“Put on the FULL armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes…  Therefore, put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.”  Ephesians 6:11,13

Leave a Reply

