Frosted Flakes and Michael Phelps

August 29, 2008 at 8:40 pm (Musings...)

This is a totally random post but speaks to the power of suggestion. 

A few days after Michael Phelps won his historic 8 gold medals (and yes, I was cheering loudly!!) some silly woman on a talk show (may have been The O’Reilly Factor — with Laura Ingraham as guest host) was saying that Michael Phelps should not be on the Frosted Flakes box because Frosted Flakes has too much sugar.   PU-LEEEZE!!

I am almost 49 years old and the only “treat” my mom and dad usually could afford were “Lucky Charms” and “Frosted Flakes.”  Otherwise we had to eat the dreaded “Shredded Wheat!” 

Anyway, for the last week or so I’ve had “Frosted Flakes” on the brain.  Yesterday I finally succumbed to the mental pressure and bought a box.   It doesn’t have Michael Phelps on the box, but hey… I couldn’t wait.

I had a huge bowl of Frosted Flakes for supper.  It is also very versatile because it tastes great dry, out of the box. 

Frosted Flakes is probably better for me than those circus peanuts…  silly woman!!

4 Comments

  1. libby said,

    How is it that you are eating Frosted Flakes and I am eating Shredded Wheat (without sugar sprinkled on top!)??! Something in this world is NOT right. haha

  2. melodyejoy said,

    I think Shredded Wheat tastes like wood dust!! Seriously, that is why you are just a itty bitty thing and will have no pregnancy weight to lose and I always struggled to lose my weight. Probably had something to do with the Frosted Flakes!! Hope your Mom is okay. Momma O.

  3. Sacha said,

    Amen! ha ha!!

  4. Gail said,

    I happen to like shredded wheats but my sweet failure is Corn Pops….So you just enjoy your big old bowl of Frosted Flakes which with milk meets one of your dairy requirements for the day. Also my mom loved circus peanuts, sometimes she would buy a bag and we would eat the entire thing before dinner. So as you can see circus peanuts hold a very dear memory for me. I may just have to have some one of these days….after I take my spinning class. 😎

Leave a Reply

