Chocolate No Bake Cookies

September 6, 2008 at 9:35 pm (Recipes)

I LOVE CHOCOLATE!!  I am pretty sure there will be chocolate in heaven…  streets of gold, mansions, chocolate, and Jesus!!! 

Last night, because there were no circus peanuts left, I had finished a box of milk duds Thursday and of course, my Frosted Flakes were gone, my sweet tooth needed feeding!!  No bake cookies were the answer for my dilemma.  It’s a good thing I exercise, don’t you think??  Hey, they have oatmeal in them so they’re good for me too!!

I thought I’d share my recipe with you — it comes from a Pennsylvania Grange Cookbook from 1972.  It is truly no-fail and is made with regular milk instead of canned milk.  Canned milk can give them an unpleasant after-taste (however, there is nothing unpleasant about a no-bake cookie). 

The trick is to boil the ingredients for 2 minutes exactly.  When adding the p.butter to the chocolate mixture, do not stir too much because it will stiffen the chocolate mixture too much before you add it to the oatmeal.  Actually, add peanut butter in a few small chunks rather than the whole 1/2 cup — it will melt easier that way.  Work quickly, though!

Chocolate No-Bake Cookies

  • 1/4 cup cocoa
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter (I use unsalted butter)
  • 1/2 cup milk (I use skim milk)
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 3 cups quick oats
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

Boil the first four ingredients for 2 minutes.  Add peanut butter and vanilla to the chocolate mixture.  Pour over oatmeal and mix.  Drop by spoonful on waxed paper or parchment paper and cool.  Yield:  20-24 cookies

Enjoy!!

2 Comments

  1. libby said,

    omg! no-bake cookies are one of my favorites!!!! I haven’t had them in years, and love the idea of adding PB! I might just have to make these today-I love when I have all ingredients on hand!

    Love you.

  2. justjera said,

    I’ve made these recently. My grandmother used to make them when I was young….a very long time ago.

Leave a Reply

