Homer’s Legacy

September 9, 2008 at 6:05 pm (Memories, Musings...)

My Daddy, Homer Richard Gay, will be 69 on the 24th of September.  He made an apple pie today and brought me a piece to enjoy.  Daddy grew up with us — he and Mom were married at 18 and 16 years old.   He taught me and Sue, my sister to sing in harmony with him when we were two and three years old.  I have a vivid memory of Daddy in charge of three of us girls, taping his banjo playing on a reel-to-reel tape.  On the tape is his banjo playing and my sister, Debbie, saying “Cappy has to go out, Daddy, Cappy has to go out!”  Cappy was our puppy and Cappy probably had an accident inside while Dad was playing and taping.  He was very persistent as he learned things.  I inherited that sometimes annoying gene. 

I got to thinking about how legacies are passed down, good and bad.  This is a GOOD legacy…  A few pictures to prove my point!!

Dad, Sue and Me -- probably 1972

Dad, Sue and Me -- probably 1972

Amanda, my Dad and Cousin Frank

Amanda, Daddy and Cousin Frank - 2006

Brent, My dad, Papap and Cousin Frank

Brent, Daddy and Cousin Frank (AGAIN!)-2007

…A Good Time Was Had By All!!…
1 Comment

  1. Sacha said,

    Hey Momma O! These are great! : ) Sheesh. I can’t imagine being married at 16!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

