The Plow Truck and Answered Prayer

September 12, 2008 at 7:46 pm (Musings..., Scripture References)

 

 

The Plow Truck

“You do not have because you do not ask God.”  James 4:2b

You may think you know where this post is going, but you don’t!!

Like all families, we play “car tag” when a car is getting repaired.  My son travels 44 miles one way to college.  I have to go 9 miles one way to work.  Brent’s wheel bearing was going bad and until it got to the repair shop, he took my car (an old lady Subaru station wagon) to school and I took his car (a cool, tinted windows Honda Accord) to work.

On Wednesday his car went into the repair shop.  No problem.  Brent had school, I didn’t have work.  Thursday, the car was still in the repair shop.  No problem.  Brent didn’t have school, I had work. 

Friday…  Brent had school, I had work.  The third vehicle in our stable is the above-pictured plow truck.  Obviously Brent cannot drive it to school — maximum speed on it is 40 mph.  I COULD drive it to school, park very, very far away… 

Problem was, I had to go into the art studio Friday (today), in our little town of Ebensburg, PA.  This requires parallel parking…   My darling hubby assured me over the phone Thursday evening that I could do that…

About 6:30 p.m. Thursday evening and our mechanic hadn’t called to say Brent’s car was fixed.  I started to panic.  Then James 4:2 came to my mind.

I sincerely, literally got on my knees and said, “Lord, you KNOW what our circumstances are tomorrow.  You KNOW that I CANNOT parallel-park the plow truck!  I HAVE to go to the art studio.  Please help me!!”

The hardest part then was “resting” in the assurance that the Lord heard my cry… 45 minutes later Tom called, Brent’s car was finished.

He HEARD my CRY and ANSWERED my PRAYER!!

2 Comments

  1. Amanda said,

    momma… but the front headlights are so COOL!!! You would have been the talk of town ; 0 I love you dearly.

    amanda

  2. Kristin said,

    I was really hoping for some pictures of you outside the 6-to-go in the plow truck!! Perhaps another time when parallel parking is NOT involved!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

