My Sewing Journey

September 22, 2008 at 12:33 pm (Memories, Sewing Projects)

I have talked to you about my decorative painting journey, but have said little about my sewing journey.  I have been sewing for 39 years!!  The first thing I made was a quilt, using scraps of fabric my mother had in her material box. 

My First Sewing Project... 1969

My First Sewing Project... 1969

I made an Easter Dress and hat (without using a stiffener — the hat flopped) when I was 12.  When I was 13 or 14 I made a purple jumpsuit (Donny Osmond’s favorite color was purple).  There was a zipper that went the whole way up the front of it.  I made all of Amanda’s formal/prom gowns.  I’m not sure if she really liked that, but it saved us money and I could get an exact fit.
Lately, I’ve decided that I am NOT sewing for sewing’s sake.  I am taking harder, more unusual patterns and making them projects.  My new favorite website is www.decadesofstyle.com .  The following jacket was made from a pattern from the website.
Front

Front

Back -- notice the intricate seaming

Back -- notice the intricate seaming

My next project is a blouse from Decades of Style.  Hopefully I will finish it before Amanda’s concert in November.  But, I have painting to do too, laundry, work… “my country’s 500th anniversary to plan, my wife to kill, and Guilder to frame for it… I’m swamped!”  (Quote is from The Princess Bride — I don’t have a wife and I’m not killing anyone!!)
1 Comment

  1. Georgina said,

    Gorgeous jacket. When is Amanda’s concert and is it local?

Leave a Reply

