Mercy Walked In

November 1, 2008 at 1:47 pm (Musings...)

Uncle Ted, Uncle Bob, Grandpap, my dad, Grandma

Uncle Ted, Uncle Bob, Grandpap, my Daddy, Grandma

My musical roots are broad; my dad exposed me and my 4 sisters to many types of music, but one of our primary roots was bluegrass music.  I remember listening to the albums of Ralph Stanley and the Bluegrass Boys, The Osborne Brothers.  We listened to the Grand Ol’ Opry out of a station in West Virginia at night!  Good Christian bluegrass music usually has very simple lyrics with intricate guitar, mandolin, fiddle, 5-string banjo, stand-up bass accompaniment.  Oh, and the guys usually sing really, really high!! 

I heard a song today by Gordon Mote and just had to google the lyrics!  God’s grace is amazing!

Mercy Walked In

I stood in the court room the judge turned my way
It looks like you’re guilty now what do you say
I spoke up your honor I have no defense
But that’s when Mercy walked in

Mercy walked in and pleaded my case
Called to the stand: God’s saving grace
The blood was presented that covered my sin
Forgiven when Mercy walked in

I stood there and wondered how could this be
Someone so guilty had just been set free
My chains were broken I felt born again
The moment that Mercy walked in

Mercy walked in and pleaded my case
Called to the stand: God’s saving grace
The blood was presented that covered my sin
Forgiven when Mercy walked in

6 Comments

  1. Chuck said,

    I happened to surf in and saw the lyrics of Mercy walked in. You may want to correct your lyrics from “My chains were broken I felt one again” to “My chains were broken I felt born again”. I just happened to notice since I was actually looking for the lyrics myself. I had just listened to the song seconds before I came here.

    God Bless

    Chuck

  2. melodyejoy said,

    Thank you. I copied and pasted the lyrics after I heard the song on TV. I didn’t think that sentence was right, but I didn’t listen to the song again. What great words, don’t you think!!! Blessings, Melodye

  3. jewell said,

    where can i get tape of song

  4. vern said,

    It’s on utube

  5. Becky Wheeler said,

    the first time i heard this song ,i thought it was awesome ,cant seem to get away fr it ,im playing it over and over again ,

  6. Kathleen Marie Miller said,

    I have this song chorded out in the key of “C” . I sing this song in church, it it speaks volumes to my heart. Yes, our chains were broken when we we were born again….. that very moment that Mercy walked in !!!!!

Leave a Reply

