Practicing the “Presence of God”

January 2, 2009 at 6:29 pm (Goals for 2009)

Stillness
Stillness

“The Spirit of Jesus provides a way for us to live on the surface and out of the depths at the same time.  On the surface we can think, dialogue, plan and be fully present to the demands of daily routine.  Simultaneously and deeply within, we can be in prayer, adoration, thanksgiving and attentiveness to the Spirit…….”

“What masters of the interior life recommend is the discipline of “centering   down” throughout the day: a quiet, persistent turning to God while driving,  cooking, conversing, writing and so on.  After weeks and months of practice,  relapses, discouragement and returns to the center, this discipline becomes a habit.  Brother Lawrence called it “the practice of the presence of God.” ~Brennan Manning ~

Practicing the presence of God is again my Spiritual Goal for 2009.  I began actively pursuing this in February 2008, but lost my way at the end of the year.  I want my habit to be on-going conversation with my God. 

4 Comments

  1. Danielle said,

    “I want my habit to be on-going conversation with my God.” Me too! Brother Lawrence’s book “Practicing the Presence of God” has come up many times this year, interestingly enough. I’d really like to read it one day.

  2. Kristin said,

    I was just talking to Lib today about the book Danielle was talking about! I read it this past year and it was life-changing for me. I would recommend it if you haven’t read it yet. Happy New Year! 🙂

  3. Linda said,

    thank you for the beautiful winter scene and for the reminder we need to intentionally “practice” His presence. It certainly doesn’t come naturally or easily. Many times instead of being still and focusing on Him – I would just try harder, to do more… and end up frustrated and discouraged. Someone once said to “Be still” is to cease striving!
    In Matt 11:28 ( MESSAGE) Jesus says:
    “Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. Keep company with Me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly”.
    this is my goal as well – to keep company with Jesus!

  4. Steve Makofka said,

    I’ve always found Frost’s image of God in the first stanza a little sad.

    Whose woods these are I think I know.
    His house is in the village though;
    He will not see me stopping here
    To watch his woods fill up with snow.

    My little horse must think it queer
    To stop without a farmhouse near
    Between the woods and frozen lake
    The darkest evening of the year.

    He gives his harness bells a shake
    To ask if there is some mistake.
    The only other sound’s the sweep
    Of easy wind and downy flake.

    The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
    But I have promises to keep,
    And miles to go before I sleep,
    And miles to go before I sleep.

Leave a Reply

