Multiple Sclerosis and Vertigo {{Ugh}}

February 5, 2009 at 6:41 pm (Decorative Painting, Multiple Sclerosis)

Okay, we’ve established that I have MS and recently it has been kicking my butt.  But… (haha) now it has my world spinning–and not in a cute merry-go-round way!

On Monday I was off work and started “finding my house” after the weekend.  At noon, I started feeling very nauseated and was throwing up.  I thought I had a virus.  I didn’t, I don’t. 

In MS, these symptoms are caused by damage to areas that coordinate perception and response to visual and spatial information by damage to the pons region of the brainstem where the acoustic cranial nerve (CNV111) arises. CN VIII divides to serve both the acoustic and balance (vestibular) functions of the ear, and it is the balance portion of this nerve that is implicated in vertigo. Vertigo can also be caused by lesions in the cerebellum.

The best response to this is to be calm and not panic.  Of course, I panicked and it took me until Wednesday to begin to work through this new chapter!  Today is Thursday and I haven’t lost my cookies yet today!!   Yay! 

I appreciate the words of encouragement I’ve received and especially for your prayers!  Libby directed me to Psalm 13…  Verse 6 says, “I will sing to the Lord, for he has been good to me.”

I will figure this out and move forward from it.   I cannot sleep at night so I’m spending the time in prayer.  Eventually I will need sleep, but prayer is a good thing too! 

I have a doctor appointment scheduled for next Tuesday and hopefully he can help me 🙂

I am including a picture of one of my paintings.  I start to list my blessings when I am sick and painting is one of them!

Golden Scrolls and Strokes

Golden Scrolls and Strokes

2 Comments

  1. youngcaroljean said,

    The painting is beautiful…as always.

  2. Sarah said,

    I found your site through a friend of a friend’s. My aunt has MS, and I’m starting to have some of the early symptoms. My MRI is this Thursday. I’ve seen the path my aunt has taken and I know what I am facing. I also know that God is in control, and that if I do have it, I will still be OK. That said, in hours spent researching my symptoms online, I came across a remarkable study-a diet called the Swank diet (just one of many “natural” approaches) for controlling symptoms and even reversing damage. I cannot attest to the the diet myself, as I haven’t started it, but I just thought it was worth mentioning since so many there seemed to find relief, live normal lives, all by dramatically changing what they ate.

    Also, there’s a web site called: illnessisoptional.com, and the doctors there recently (Feb 8) did a radio show on MS, how to approach it naturally, etc. It injected some hope into my thoughts about this terrible disease, and perhaps it will for you also. The doctor there talked about a particular diet as well, how MRI’s that initially turned up with plaque and indicative of MS, were then free of those spots after a time of being on the diet he mentioned. You may be able to listen to the program online, as I think they post their shows a few days after they air. From my aunt’s experience, I know that traditional medicine just does not have all the answers to this disease. I encourage you to look into this because it may be of some benefit.

    God bless,

    Sarah

Leave a Reply

