Lemon Tea Bread

April 2, 2009 at 12:44 pm (Recipes)

Lemon Tea Bread

Lemon Tea Bread

As I am working towards my financial goals for 2009, one of the really crucial steps I have taken is to financially fast at least three days a week.  Simply, I don’t spend ANY money that particular day!!  It has been an eye-opener to realize that, while I THINK I am financially responsible, I can still spend without much thought!

I wanted to bake today but because I am “fasting,” I had to be creative.  I had 3/4 cup of unsalted butter (1/4 cup to be used for gravy for tonight’s meal), some old lemons, and chocolate chunks.  I made Lemon Tea Bread (recipe to follow) and didn’t have enough butter to make the cookies, so I used shortening and sour cream…  I’ll let  you know how the cookies turned out 🙂

The Lemon Tea Bread is scrumptious!!!!

Lemon Tea Bread

 

½ cup butter (unsalted)

1 cup sugar

2 large eggs

Grated peel of 1 lemon (1 tsp)

1½ cups flour

1 tsp baking powder

¼ tsp salt

½ cup milk

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a loaf pan.  Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy; beat in all remaining ingredients, in order.  Pour into prepared pan and bake for 45-55 minutes or until done.

 

LEMON GLAZE:  Juice of 1 lemon and ½ cup powdered sugar, well blended.

 

Remove bread from pan, as soon as possible; place on a wire rack and drizzle with lemon glaze.  Place waxed paper under rack to catch the excess drizzle. 

Dan said the cookies were good!  🙂

3 Comments

  1. Kris said,

    That looks delicious!

  2. Sister Esther said,

    I told Ray you made I thought “lemon bars” but it was lemon tea cake. He was kind of bummed he liked lemon bars better! And he didn’t even eat either one. Funny how guys take food so seriously.

  3. Danielle said,

    Looks tasty. I love all things lemon!

Leave a Reply

