Grumpy

April 4, 2009 at 12:05 pm (Musings...)

I couldn’t find my umbrella.  I spent Friday unsuccessfully dodging sideways rain since I can’t walk quickly.  I knew where it usually was… on the back seat on the driver’s side of my car.  I had to go to a hair appointment after my first part-time job was finished.  Then my second part-time job took more time.  I limped home at 3:00  p.m., barely able to walk and soaking wet.  When I inquired about the whereabouts of my umbrella, Danny informed me that it was in his golf bag…  MY girly umbrella!!  I was NOT happy!

Then I had trouble falling asleep.  I remember seeing 12:28 and then had two bouts of tremors, but didn’t have my medicine by my side and didn’t want to wake Danny O.   A hot flash hit at 4:23.  I fell back asleep at 6:00  only to be awakened at 7:25 by the noise of the television thanks to my son, Brent.  The first words out of my mouth this morning were angry, tired words, “TURN DOWN THAT TV!!!!!!!!!!!”

Okay, I had to re-group.  I had to change my grumpy attitude.  24 hours of grumpy is enough! 

Armed with a grocery list, a large cup of coffee and my Ipod, I went to Walmart.  I listened to praise music as I meandered through the aisles of our local super store.  I got everything on my list and some lipgloss and a “Lucky” magazine.  I am doing laundry, making macaroni salad, blogging and coloring my hair.  I am choosing to be happy…  well, “happy” perhaps is too cheerful of a word 🙂

I am choosing NOT to be grumpy!!  I can’t claim to have great joy yet, but, hey,  it is only 11:49 a.m.

3 Comments

  1. Danielle said,

    Sometimes, you’ve just got to “choose” to not be grumpy, it’s true. I hope today’s a better day. And a better night’s sleep!

  2. Sister Esther said,

    Thanks for this melodye:0) I so needed it.

  3. Georgia Dawbon said,

    Hi Melodye,

    I enjoy your blog so much…I already feel as though I know you. I look forward to meeting you in person one day! (I swear, I’m going to sit in one of your classes one day! )

    hugs
    Georgia

Leave a Reply

