My Gifts

May 2, 2009 at 10:27 am (Musings...)

amandaandbrent12

amandaandbrent21

 

 

 

 

Both of my children are moving this month.  Amanda, who is 27, moved yesterday to a condo with her friend, Sarah, in Burke, Virginia.  She has been away from home for a few years, but Brent, 23, is moving on Friday to North Carolina with his friend, Todd.  They are going to be trainers for high school sports teams in the Lake Norman area. 

This is a very bittersweet time for me.  One one hand, I am absolutely ready to be alone with my darling hubby of almost 29 years, Danny O.  On the other, the years went by so quickly that I wish I had more time with them.  Memories have been moving through my mind like old movie reels.  Events, long forgotten, are remembered once more.

Parenting isn’t easy.  I did some things really well and other things very badly.  I KNOW I was sometimes too hard on Amanda and Brent; my expectations were unrealistic.  However, I KNOW I was always there for them.  I wish I could have a few “do-overs” 🙂

Letting go ~~ of treasures you’ve poured your heart and soul into ~~ is nearly impossible.  I am essentially finished parenting.   I’ve spent most of my adult life emersed in theirs but now I must move on.  My head knows these facts, but my heart is still in denial. 

My darling children were borrowed Gifts from God.  I am returning them to His capable hands now with much love and a bit of sorrow.  

Blessings to you, my darling children.  

May the Lord bless you and keep you.
May He cause His face to shine upon you.
May He lift up His countenance and grant you peace.

Amanda, May you be as Sarah, Rebekah, Rachel and Leah.
May the Lord with you ever be.
May He bring you home unto the land prepared for thee.

Brent, May you be as Ephraim and Manassah.
May the Lord with you ever be.
May He bring you home unto the land prepared for thee.

May the Lord protect and defend you.
May His Spirit fill you with grace.
May our family grow in happiness,
O Lord, hear my prayer.

4 Comments

  1. Danielle said,

    Very sweet. Have you heard of the book “Barbara & Susan’s Guide to the Empty Nest: Discovering New Purpose, Passion & Your Next Great Adventure”? I heard the authors interview on Christian radio and it sounded really good. Even gave me a lot to think about at my stage of parenting so that when I get to the stage you’re in, I’ll make the most successful transition possible. I’m sure it is very bittersweet.

    • melodyejoy said,

      I think it is something that you can prepare for… in a sense I have because I have a life outside of my children, but it still sort of hits you between the eyes. 😦

  2. Gail said,

    I’m so with you this week.. Michael graduates from college and if all goes as planned he will be headed to Florida in some sports related field before summer ends. Prayers are with you.

  3. libby said,

    Momma O, Amanda still needs you! Trust me 😉

Leave a Reply

