“Bring Them To Me”

September 17, 2009 at 2:56 pm (Musings...)

Amanda

Amanda

Brent

Brent

Being a parent to adult children is new to me.  I’m not always good at maintaining balance.  I was a pro-active parent when my kids were young and as they say, old habits die hard.       
                         
I have been in sincere prayer for both as they navigate their own lives.  Sometimes I feel despair, as I pray, because I am not seeing answers.     
           
This morning, by Divine Intervention, I believe, I decided to read from the devotional “Morning and Evening” by Charles Spurgeon.  He talked about being a parent, using Mark 9:17-29.  Jesus simply told the boy’s father to “Bring the boy to me.”                                                                                                       
 
That is what I need to do… bring my children before the Throne of Grace, where there is much mercy.  As Charles Spurgeon says, “We must never cease to pray until they cease to breathe.” 
 
I must go to “the strong for strength.”    Bring them to Me…
2 Comments

  1. Danielle said,

    What a good reminder, Melodye! Even thought my kids are little and I’m more “hands-on” at this stage, I still have to remember this lesson.

    • marlene said,

      Thanks, Mel! In my morning devotions I read, “If i don’t bring my children’s names before the Living God every day then I’m failing as a parent” Double reminder for me!!

      Beth Moore said, “I want so much for my children. I shamelessly ask God to bless them and show them favor!”

      What a privilege and a responsibility!

Leave a Reply

