Multiple Sclerosis — Learning to Accept its Consequences

September 23, 2009 at 11:50 am (Multiple Sclerosis)

The result of my MS

The result of my MS

I have been battling multiple sclerosis since 1990.  I have fought hard and successfully, but there is one symptom/result that I cannot change… look at my face…  This picture was taken of me after about 3 1/2 of working on an art project at a seminar.  Exhaustion had set in.  The muscles in the lower part of my face were collapsing in fatigue.

When I first looked at this picture, I was ashamed.  Instead of focusing on my OWN design and the great job I had done on the door crown, I honed in on how I looked.  (You can see the final product in an earlier post). 

I wanted to weep… in fact I did, embarrassed that my carefully-crafted public persona was unmasked.  I am still not comfortable looking at this picture, but I am reminded that I am “fearfully and wonderfully made.” 

I am sharing this with you in the hope that when you see someone who looks older than they should, or worn from the ravages of life, that you say a prayer over them… the that Lord would bless them and lift their spirits.

I sincerely pray that someday I can accept this very public consequence of MS.

7 Comments

  1. saltisnotthespiceoflife said,

    I think you are beautiful, just as your art work is. What a wonderful lesson to remind others of – to say a prayer over those that don’t look like they should. I’ve had MS for 13 years now and often times deal with the looks, snickers and under-the-breathe comments because I don’t always look like I should.

    Keep the Faith!!
    Lindsey

  2. Kristin said,

    I can’t imagine how hard this is. But when I see this picture – I see a beautiful woman who loves her kids so sacrificially, who spends her days encouragng and praying for others – some who she never has seen, who constantly puts others needs ahead of her own, very present needs. A beautiful woman of grace who has taken challenges and risks and shown strength and determination and faith. Who has extended herself beyond her borders and shown what the practical love of Christ looks like in the lives around her. It sucks to have to go through this, but beauty is never something you have to worry about lacking. I am praying for you!

  3. Danielle said,

    You are so brave to share this picture, but, when I look at it you don’t look any less beautiful than usual! Mostly, it’s your spiritual beauty that shines through, even on your most physically beautiful day! You are such a vibrant example of being a wise and godly woman who uses her time as an “empty nester” to God’s glory!

  4. Gail said,

    I did not even notice your face until I read the post. I was immediately drawn to the beaufiul peace of art. You also are a beautiful piece of God’s art. I was reminded once by a very wise person that we never will look at someone that God does not love…kind of puts things in perspective. Also I hate when people judge me…especially those who do not know me….so when I look at others, especially those who look worn and tired I remind myself that until I have walked a mile in their shoes I have no room to make any assumptions.

  5. Sister Esther said,

    Actually all I noticed was how young your hands looked!

  6. Amanda Joy Olsavsky said,

    you are beautiful Mom. You know my love for you is greater than I can express.

  7. BrandonS said,

    Excellent posting , You’ve really hit the
    nail on the head, I just don’t understand why people quite get it.
    I’m not for sure how many people I’ve talked to about this very
    thing in the past few days, and they just don’t grasp it.

    Never the less, Excellent post!

Leave a Reply

