L.S.L.O.E. (Log Splitter Lever Operator Extraordinaire

October 8, 2009 at 8:48 pm (Musings...)

Every year, usually the first week in October, my darling hubby, Danny O, takes a week’s vacation to cut, split, and stack firewood.  This effort has saved us thousands of dollars in heating costs over the years.  The kids always knew, when Dad cut, everyone pitched in to help split and stack. 

Since Dan and I are the only two people currently residing at 328 Fords Corner Road, it is left to us to complete this monumental task.   I am so tired tonight, I could weep, but I took pictures to document our day. 

I don’t have the skill-set to cut the wood, but I am an expert at pushing the log-splitter lever.  After four days of hard work, we nearly have enough wood to last the winter.  God has indeed blessed me with my darling hubby of 29 years.  He works so hard and I truly appreciate him!

This Autumn day was lovely, as the sun softly shone through the red, yellow, orange leaves.   I enjoyed sitting on a stump, watching Danny cut the wood.  I think he enjoyed my company 🙂

Danny O cutting down the dead, standing tree

Danny O cutting down the dead, standing tree


...cutting the wood into pieces

...cutting the wood into pieces


Proof that I CAN run a log-splitter (do you like the hat?)

Proof that I CAN run a log-splitter (do you like the hat?)


Queen Anne's Lace in the field

Queen Anne's Lace in the field


What a glorious color palette!!  The back field/tree line

What a glorious color palette!! The back field/tree line


Side-view of our house

Side-view of our house

1 Comment

  1. Kristin said,

    I love the view from your house! 🙂 and the hat! glad you’re feelingbetter (i hope!)

Leave a Reply

