Joyful, Patient, Faithful

January 22, 2010 at 5:03 pm (Decorative Painting, Multiple Sclerosis, Musings...)

My "Crackle" Project -- color assigned and shadowed

Those of you who read my blogs understand that I really try and be pithy and positive as I share my life with you.  Right now, though, I am going through some despair ~~ caused by pain. 

I have trigeminal neuralgia, probably as a result of my MS.  The pain is so severe at times that I want to literally rip my face off (not an exaggeration!).  I have some great doctors who are helping me to manage this… Dr. Mike, Dr. Kevin and Dr. Nassr, are all my advocates. 

The interesting thing is that, when I bend wire for jewelry or paint, the pain becomes less a part of my body.  There is no other way to explain it.  I know it is there, and it can be as severe, but I have a place to put it.

I just believe that what I’m going through is a natural part of life, not necessarily a test that I have to pass — thank goodness! 🙂

I am working on a crackled piece of wood, which represents how I feel right now.  It is my design.  I plan to put a verse, positve affirmation, or something like that in the blank space on the left.  For my painting friends, I am showing you the stage I am at now — just basically the foundation.  But I wanted to share my journey with you, both physical and artistic.

“Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.”  Romans 12:12

May He find me faithful!

4 Comments

  1. Hazel said,

    Hi Melodye,

    Sorry to hear that you are in so much pain. I hope the doctors can manage it for you to a level that is not so painful.

    I love your crackle project and look forward to seeing the progression. Is this your design?

    Hazel

    • melodyejoy said,

      Yes, Hazel, it is my design. I plan to put a verse in the blank spot on the left. I know it looks rough right now, but I have faith that it is going to blossom 🙂

      Thanks for your encouragement!
      Melodye

  2. Barbara Pennnington said,

    Melodye, this crackled piece is going to be lovely, as you are. What you’ve done so far shows all your talent. I’m anxiously awaiting what verse you put on it. I’ve enjoyed your blog – you are an amazing person and your outlook on life is exceptional. I wish I were half as wonderful as you!

    Hugs,
    Barb

  3. Brian said,

    What a beautiful piece of work…I am amazed. It almost looks like it could be the front of a guitar. Your artistic talent is definately a gift, and an effective therapy for body and spirit.
    Smile today and know that God loves you.

Leave a Reply

