MVD ~~ Part Two

March 22, 2010 at 6:08 pm (MVD)

Surgery took an additional 2 1/2 hours.  Celeste sat with Dan for four hours and Pastor Dave, Sam Davis stopped in to check on him.

I woke up in ICU, confused, but in no pain.  Danny stayed until 5:30 then went home for the night.  Dr. Bowles said he discovered two (2) veins compressed around my trigeminal nerve and had to use two sponges to provide a cushion between the veins and nerve.  The facial spasm nerve has quite a bit of MS plaque and he couldn’t fix it…  but Botox will…

…at about 6:00 p.m. I started vomiting.  Nurse Teresa passed me on to Nurse Jackie.  I threw up every 30/45 minutes.  Jackie got permission to give me the anti-nausea meds early ~~ was not effective

March 16, 2010

I am still throwing up.  I ache all over.  My head especially hurts.  DannyO wiped my chin as I continued to dry-heave.  I remember nothing more about the 16th, except that feeling that, if the Lord wanted to take me, He could 🙂  .  I was ready to go.  I couldn’t even pray but I knew many people were praying on my behest.  Brent kept my wonderful ICU nurses busy, calling every 3 hours or so from NC to check on my condition. 

March 17, 2010

It is St. Patty’s Day.  I don’t’ care!!  They have given up on giving me anything by mouth, just a good IV.  Then Lou “pharmacist extraordinaire” found just the right “cocktail” of anti-nausea drugs and after 30 hours spent vomiting, I stopped!  🙂  The Lord’s mercy is indeed great!

1 Comment

  1. Denise Manges said,

    Melodye, I stumbed upon your blog a few months ago…..can’t remember how. I met you years ago – probably at a Grace Brethren Church. (My hubby pastored at Geistown GBC in the early 90’s and has done pulpit supply in various GB churches over the past 30 yrs) We presently live in New Enterprise and attend Community GBC in Everett. My hubby works a full time job and still does pulpit supply. I had not been faithful in reading your blog and just today saw that you had the MVD surgery. My dd went to Lancaster Bible College in 1999/2000. She worked at a Hoss’s there and one of her co-workers, Debra, had TM. Debra also had this surgery in 1999 and although we lost touch with her, I read on her blog that she was still pain free in 2007. Debra had her surgery done by Dr. Ben Carson at Johns Hopkins. I pray the surgery will give you relief from the pain. I remember you as a very personable, talented lady and I pray that God will continue to use you to bring glory to Himself. I enjoyed reading your blog and also seeing how you are using your creativity in your artwork and jewelry. Praying for your continued recovery. Denise

Leave a Reply

