“Finding Joy”

March 23, 2010 at 5:42 pm (Musings...)

Me in Third Grade in Telford, PA

I thought I’d take a break from blogging about my MVD… the next installments include pooping (very important in a hospital; I found that out the hard way) and a psycho roommate.   Another story for another time . 🙂 

My middle name is “Joy” so I have that pressure of being happy in all circumstances ~~ Melodye Joy doesn’t give me many options, does it?  I’ve even blogged about “Choosing Joy.”  Many of you who have talked to me know that I often talking about being joyful in all circumstances, by choice.  That is part of Practicing the Presence of God.

In the midst of my very difficult week, however, there was no joy to choose.  It was indeed that grueling.  ~~ I had to “Find Joy.”

“Do not grieve, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.”  Nehemiah 8:10

O Lord, you have filled my heart with greater joy.”  Psalm 4:7

There was absolutely nothing in my circumstances that evoked joy:  ICU, dry-heaving, nausea, despair, pain, fear, fatigue… How could I find joy?

 ~~By Looking Up~~

“He will cover you with His feathers and under His wings you will find refuge.”  Psalm 91:4

I found joy, not in my circumstances, but in the knowledge that I was being held, protected and loved.

1 Comment

  1. Aunt Susan said,

    Mel, I just love reading your blogs. I know that Psalm 91 was so meaningful to me when I was going through radiation…..I could feel the protection and comfort of being under that wing. You are doing so well. Just think it was only 8 days ago ! Continue your progress. Spring is coming !

Leave a Reply

