17 Days

March 31, 2010 at 6:35 pm (MVD)

It has been 17 days since I’ve been able to wash my hair.  Tomorrow is my follow-up appointment with the neurosurgeon.  Hopefully they will remove the stitches and give me their collective blessing to give my head a good scrubbing.  My skin is very, very dry (probably from the anesthetic) and I have been using a sugar scrub to keep it exfoliated.  I cannot wait to try my new “Mally” makeup (from QVC).  When I do, I will take “before” and “after” pictures, just for fun.

I have really been watching what I’ve been eating because I cannot exercise.  When a person is 50, in order to eat, one must exercise.  My elliptical and pilates machines are calling my name!

I think I am also struggling a bit with depression.  Nothing I can really put my finger on; not a huge deal.  I am having trouble focusing long enough to get anything completed and haven’t picked up a paint brush for a week.  That is not me.

I am not going to focus on that, just acknowledge it and figure out how to move forward from it.  I am so blessed that Amanda stayed with me all last week and helped me through my first week home from the hospital.  Juel came on Monday and Jana came today.  Both are dear, dear friends and they lifted my spirits! 

I will claim new grace and new mercies tomorrow and continue to behave my way through this new life experience 🙂

2 Comments

  1. Danielle said,

    Still praying for you!

  2. Charlotte said,

    Melodye,
    You don’t know me but I first “met” you through the original Traditions list. I started following your blog and learned over time that you are one special lady. I don’t read every day but do pop in occasionally to see how you’re doing and what adventure you are experiencing. I just wanted you to know that I enjoy your writings and look forward to catching up with you from time to time. Please know that I am praying for your speedy recovery. You are a blessing to me and your spirit and faith give me hope when things get rough. Keep writing–I know there are others who benefit from your peaceful acceptance of each challenge you face. God Bless.

Leave a Reply

