Behaving My Way Through…

April 6, 2010 at 12:35 pm (Decorative Painting, Jewelry, MVD, Scripture References)

Coral bracelet ~~ my design

How is one supposed to be feeling three weeks removed from MVD surgery?  Is it okay to still need pain medicine as the nerves in my head come alive again and my ear feels like it is infected?  Is it okay to need lots and lots (and still more) of sleep?  My hair hurts at the roots.  Is this normal?  Why do I seem to have concentration issues? 

The good news is I am now able to wash my hair and I feel human again!  I showered, dressed, put make-up on in preparation to attend Easter Services on Sunday and was too exhausted to go, but I looked great!!!

It is very interesting that my devotion today focused on Psalm 119:71-74

“It was good for me to be afflicted so that I might learn your decrees.  The law from your mouth is more precious to me than thousands of pieces of silver and gold.  Your hands made me and formed me; give me understanding to learn your commands.  May those who fear you rejoice when they see me, for I have put my hope in your word.” 

I must always, in all circumstances, remember that God made me and all the junk that goes along with being “me.”   I want to be salt and light ~~ I can’t do that if I stay in bed all day!! 

To be honest, for me, the risk is that I stop doing, stop living life, just stop fighting.  I must behave my way through this day… which to me means:  to get up with darling DannyO, even if I need to lie down when he goes to work; read my Bible and pray; take a shower, think about supper, figure out my next painting project, my next jewelry project.  Those are the concrete steps I must take to behave my way through this unfamiliar journey.

What steps do you need to take to behave your way through a particularly hard situation?  I would encourage you to figure it out, even write it down if you must!  (Lists are my friend!)

Blessings to all who read this today!!

New England Sampler 3-2010

2 Comments

  1. Connie said,

    I had not heard that statement before about behaving your way through something. I think I will use this to remind me to ‘Behave my way through” my day.

  2. Sandy O'Leary said,

    You are an inspiration to me! I also have a chronic condition that brings me “down” at times, now I am going to “behave my way through” my day, one day at a time!

    I love your blog and your writing style, even though you are quite ill you manage to keep and share your sense of humor. God Bless you.

    Sandy

Leave a Reply

