Beauty For Ashes

April 12, 2010 at 1:09 am (Musings...)

I had a particularly rough week last week.  Healing isn’t going according to MY timetable.  My multiple sclerosis is acting up.  I had a yeast infection.   On top of that, I had a personal situation occur that paralyzed me for about three days.  When I get paralyzed, I can’t function beyond my normal, need-to activities.  I can’t create.  I can’t sleep.   All of those situations together proved to be too much for me.   I limped through Saturday, catching sleep where I could, just marginally functioning so that my hubby didn’t realize I had completely lost my mind!

On Saturday, my friend Juel drove me to hear Amanda sing a song that was part of a celebration of the music of Samuel Roberts.  The celebration was called, “The Reaping.”   There was singing, dancing, prophesying, praying, reading scripture.  I have no pictures to document our time at the Baptist Church, but the Word of the Lord spoke to me there. 

“And provide for those who grieve in Zion — to bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair.  They will be called oaks of righteousness, a planting of the Lord for the display of his splendor.”  Isaiah 61:3

I have been grieving, despairing; while desperately praying that the Lord would deliver me from this personal hell (OCD at its finest, can be hell on earth.).   These specific promises were made to the Children of Israel, but I claimed all of them on Saturday…  Beauty for ashes ~~ Oil of gladness for mourning ~~ garment of praise for spirit of despair ~~

Three promises.  Of the three, I must actively participate in the last two ~~ trading mourning for gladness and choosing to praise instead of despair.  The first promise, I believe, comes out of my obedience of the last two.  Beauty for Ashes ~~ What a promise, what a blessing!  When I am obedient, I will be like a tree of righteousness ~~ a planting of the Lord for the display of HIS splendor. 

That is who I want to be… a representation of the Lord’s splendor because of his grace and mercy.

I am going to work through this week, meditating on this verse and gleaning all that I am able to glean from these words.  May this verse bring you comfort and hope today!

3 Comments

  1. Danielle said,

    God’s word never comes back void, so no doubt you’ll be blessed this week as you meditate on it.

  2. zoanna said,

    Praying for you today, Melanie.

  3. Brian said,

    Beautiful testimony and wonderfully said. You are and have been in my prayers.
    May you be blessed this day and always.
    Brian

Leave a Reply

