Slow-Cooker Taco Soup

July 2, 2010 at 8:08 pm (Recipes)

My mom insisted that I borrow a brand new book she received, “Christmas, Book 11, by Gooseberry Patch.”  As I was perusing through it, I came across a recipe I thought I’d try. 

It is delicious!!

Slow-Cooker Taco Soup

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 onion diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 15-oz. cans black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 cups of water
  • 15 1/4-oz. can of corn, drained
  • 15-oz. can tomato sauce
  • 12-oz. bottle green taco sauce
  • 4 1/2-oz. can chopped green chiles
  • 1-oz. pkg. taco seasoning mix

Garnishes:  sour cream, shredded cheddar cheese.

Brown beef, onion and garlic in a large skillet over medium heat: drain.  In a slow cooker, combine beef mixture and remaining ingredients except garnishes.  Cover and cook on high setting for one hour.  Garnish, if desired.  Serve with corn chips or tortilla chips.  Makes 8 to 10 servings.

I had never used green taco sauce.  When I make this recipe again,  (and I will), I’ll probably use fresh or frozen corn.  It could be cooked on top of the stove, sort of like a chili.  My 30-year old crock pot needed almost 2 hours to cook this.  Of course, she is old and tired 🙂 . If you use a newer pot, the cooking time is probably just right. Even though I usually associate the crock pot with cold, winter nights, it is actually a perfect fit for hot summer days ~~ it doesn’t heat up the kitchen!!

It was not too spicy and my darling DannyO and Daddy absolutely loved it! 

 

Leave a Reply

