Fighting Fear

July 12, 2010 at 12:49 pm (Musings..., Scripture References)

What are you afraid of?  I don’t mean snakes and spiders fear (although my fear of snakes IS very real!).  I mean… well, here are a few pictures of my fears…  

Fear of Success

Fear of Failure

Fear of Losing my Musical Abilities

 These fears paralyze me.  They keep me from finishing well.  Fear renders me deaf and dumb, immune to those who try to encourage me.  Fear weakens my resolve to live for Jesus. 

Pastor Ray, Jr. at EBC has been doing a series on fear.  Today, using some of the passages he referenced and using my handy-dandy concordance, I found a few verses.
“For God did not give us a spirit of fear, but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.”  2 Timothy 1:7
 
“The Lord is my light and my salvation.  Whom  shall I fear?”  Psalm 27:1
 
“So do not fear, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you.  I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”  Isaiah 41:10
 
“There is no fear in love.  But perfect love drives out fear.”  1 John 4:18
 
Unfortunately, I was not a good model of courage for my children.  I watch as they struggle, as I have with fear of failure.  I wrote out this prayer today…
Lord, my life is often ruled by fear:  fear of failure, fear of success, fear of the unknown, fear of people’s reactions, fear of finances.  You promise that your perfect love casts out fear.  I am embracing, filling myself with your perfect love, so that I may approach this day, tomorrow, and the days following with courage and boldness.  I want YOUR WILL to rule my life, not fear.  I love you.  ~~ Your Daughter ~~  Melodye Joy.
2 Comments

  1. Sister Esther said,

    Fear of not being good enough…I could add to this list. Yep, we are sisters.

  2. Estella said,

    Thanks Mel for for the prayer.!!! God always knows what we need and where to find it. and I thank God for sending you as a friend. Estella

Leave a Reply

