Patrick

July 27, 2010 at 11:05 am (Musings..., MVD)

“Be not forgetful to entertain strangers: for thereby some have entertained angels unawares.”  Hebrews 13:2

I met Patrick in the hospital when I was in for my MVD in March.  He was battling brain cancer.  I was sitting outside of my room to get away from my looney roommate, reading, and he stopped, asked if he could sit down.  I told him, “sure.”  We started to talk.  He told me about his battle ~~ it had been a short one with aggressive cancer; he told me about his life ~~ it had been a hard one.  He had no children, two sisters.  I encouraged him.  I read some scripture to him (I had my Bible with me).  I asked him if he knew Jesus.  I briefly explained the way of Salvation.  I asked him if I could pray for him and he said I could.   I prayed that he would have courage and peace, the peace that passes all understanding  (Philippians 4:7).   I have continued to pray for Patrick.

Patrick died on July 25.  I read his obituary in the paper.  I now know his last name.  He is survived by two sisters and many nieces and nephews.   I pray that God was able to use my encounter with Patrick. 

 

2 Comments

  1. Sister Esther said,

    I remembered you sharing this story with me when you got out of the hospital. You know, I read that obituary and remembered his first name, and I wondered. Praise God that maybe he had some spiritual comfort and the angels were there for him. God has used you Melodye, because of your troubles. We are made more than conquerers.

  2. libby said,

    I truly believe God is all-powerful and able to use those chance encounters. I had the same opportunity to share the Gospel with my Granny right before she passed away. We don’t know the outcome, but we know a God big enough to change hearts!!! Thanks for being faithful to share the Truth!

Leave a Reply

