Meekness: Strength Under Control

September 27, 2010 at 1:44 pm (Scripture References)

The Pastors at Emmanuel Baptist Church are doing a series on “Life’s Healing Choices.”  The series is based on Matthew 5 ~~ The Beatitudes.  This Sunday, Pastor Ray (who was preaching Pastor Dave’s sermon) 🙂  spoke on Matthew 5:5, “Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth.”

 Meekness, Ray Jr. explained, is strength under control.  As I usually do each week, I took the sermon notes and started looking up the scripture references for further study.  I was absolutely hit between the eyes with something I struggle with… humility.  Diva that I am, and sinful human that I am, the “I” part of me fights to be heard, to be validated (a word we hear so often today).  That is completely contrary to what God says. 

“Remind the people to be subject to rulers and authorities, to be obedient, to be ready to do whatever is good, to slander no one, to be peaceable and considerate, and to show true humility toward all men.”  Titus 3:1,2

 “Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.  Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another.  Forgive as the Lord forgave you.”  Colossians 3:12, 13

 “Be completely humble and gentle; be patient; bearing with one another in love.”  Ephesians 4:2

 No where in any of those verses does it say, fight for your “rights,” make sure your “voice” is heard, do whatever feels good, as long as it doesn’t hurt anyone.  None of that is acceptable if I want to live as Christ lived.  I have learned to keep very short accounts, to ask for forgiveness and to accept apologies. 

 I must, above all, be a servant, not a diva… although, technically, since I am a daughter of the King of Kings, I am a princess!!  🙂

1 Comment

  1. kayla said,

    I Love this.
    (and you, most certainly, are a princess)

Leave a Reply

