Learning to Go With The Flow

December 1, 2010 at 10:02 am (Musings...)

Most of you know that I am a rigid person.  I count (silently!).  I make lists, check them twice.  I follow rules.  I like order.    Since my children have been gone, I have been able to completely give in to my OCD tendencies.

Last night I had praise team practice, at 6:00.  I started supper at 4:15.  We ate at 5:00 (shrimp scampi).  I got dressed, left the house at 5:30.  I arrived at the church at 5:52 (always a few minutes early).  I planned to rehearse until 7:30, get home at 8:00.  From 8:30 to 11:00 I planned to finish a painting.  However…  Rehearsal had been moved to 7:30 ~~ I didn’t get the email!  😦

My initial response was, a moment of panic (really!) and a bit of anger (truly!).  Then, after my brain processed the change, I decided to head over to the Mall (5 minutes away) and get some Christmas shopping done.  I meandered through the Mall, purchased the kids’ ornaments and a new house for our village.  I also stopped at American Eagle and spent WAY too much money on undies and socks for my darling children.

I stopped at Sheetz for a Wildberry smoothie and arrived back at the church at 7:25 (again, a few minutes early).  My world was spinning correctly again.  🙂

I truly don’t want to live like this, but realize that I must constantly fight my tendencies.  I must grab all the Grace and Mercy I can and just…  breathe!!!   

Leave a Reply

