Creative Souls ~~ No Rules

December 3, 2010 at 10:20 am (Decorative Painting)

I learned the art of decorative painting from Paul and Cathy Seymour, Seymour’s Creative Legacy Studio, in Ebensburg, PA.  After four years, they decided to close their shop, opting for monthly weekend seminars.  I love to take their seminars, but miss the weekly gathering of creative minds.  One of the ladies approached me and asked if I would be willing to host/facilitate a semi-weekly painting night at my house ~~ Thus “Creative Souls ~~ No Rules” was born!

I can fit four people around my dining room table.  Deanna, Nancy, Nadine and I paint from 6:00 to 9:00 every other Monday.  We laugh, paint, eat, drink coffee, critique each other’s work… generally just have fun!  I truly miss having a teacher, but this is an important option for us.

We have been working on a Santa piece designed by Bobbie Takashima.  While my piece doesn’t look anything like the original design, I am so pleased with my effort! 

Creative Soul Sisters rule!!

"Santa" Plate 12-3-10

 

A close-up look 🙂

3 Comments

  1. Zoanna said,

    Beautiful painting, Melodye. And I am inspired to make a priority of regular get-togethers with women friends just for fun. Thanks!

  2. Danielle said,

    You’re just so talented!

  3. Nancy said,

    Love it, Mel! You painted so well and had a lot of fun also.
    Know that you are loved.
    Nancy

Leave a Reply

