Spiritual Reflections of 2010

January 2, 2011 at 6:14 pm (Scripture References)

These are a selection of journal entries, scripture verses and prayers I wrote as I “practiced the presence of God” in 2010.  My time in The Word is a precious part of my day.

January

“Come to me all you who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest.”  Matthew 11:28.  “If anyone is thirsty, let him come to Me and drink.”  John 7:37

I was in a lot of pain in January and was weary.  My notes reflect that… as I desperately looked for relief, I looked to Jesus.  I also shoveled a lot of snow!

“You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast, because he trusts in you.”  Isaiah 26:3

February

Still shoveling, I was reflecting and learning about the Power of God, who HE is.   I needed His Power to merely function.  “You are my witnesses, declare the Lord, and my servant whom I have chosen; so that you may know and believe me and understand that I am He.  Before me, no God was formed and there will be none after me.”  Isaiah 43:10

March

I had MVD surgery on the 16th.  It was not fun nor was it easy.  I spent five days in ICU and as I recovered at home, I was looking for rest, peace and joy.

“He will cover you with His feathers, and under His wings you will find refuge.”  Psalm 91:4.  “I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with loving kindness.”  Jeremiah 31:3

May

I have two quotes in my notes in the month of May:  “God looks upon our hearts and knows whether we have any authentic desire to be different or if we’re all talk.” ~~ Beth Moore 

“God is far more interested in my holiness than my temporary happiness.”  Pastor Dave.  According to Pastor Dave, the Greek translation of 2 Corinthians 12:8 is “sufficient for you is the grace of me.”  “I (Jesus) am  the grace.”  Just like the Apostle Paul struggled with his “thorn in the flesh,” I continued to struggle with my physical limitations.  However, if I didn’t struggle, I would experience His power! 

“Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love, according to your great compassion, blot out my transgressions.”  Psalm 51:1.

June

I was focusing on prayer and answers.  “Therefore, I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.”  Mark 11:24.  “You do not have, because you do not ask God.”  James 4:2b.  “The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.” James 5:16.

July

“Lord, I am so glad that You do not give me what I deserve… Thank you for your favor, compassion and love.  I claim those today, with full understanding that it is only through the cross I can claim those ~ not for anything I have done, but because of Your great love & mercy.  Your daughter, Melodye.”

September

“My soul is thirsty for ~~ Waters of  Life ~~ Rivers of Joy.  Come now and hear my plea ~~ I need more of you!”  (Me)

November

“Dear Jesus ~ I love You and thank You for Your sacrifice on the cross.  May I never forget it.  I ask that  You clean my heart today ~~ find me faithful.  If it is in Your will, please restore my singing voice.  If it is not in Your will, use me the best way You can.  Bless Amanda and Brent, as they make decisions and work out their salvation ~~ always coming back to you.  Keep me faithful to pray for them.  I love you.  Your daughter, Melodye Joy.”

December

“The Son is the radiance of God’s Glory, and the exact representation of His being, sustaining all things by His powerful word.  After he had provided purification for sins, he sat down at the right hand of the majesty in heaven.”  Hebrews 1:3

I think I still have more questions than answers, but I will continue to strive to be an instrument that God can use in 2011!!

Leave a Reply

