My Fabulous Meatloaf

January 12, 2011 at 12:30 pm (Recipes)

It is cold and very snowy here in western Pennsylvania.  One of my favorite winter “comfort” foods is meatloaf.  I must admit I don’t make it as much as I used to.  It was an inexpensive meal when my darling children lived at home.  Yesterday I dug out my recipe ~~ from a cookbook my Aunt Agnes gave me the year I was married, 1980.  I have made a few additions/changes to the recipe and the following is my 2010 version.  Even though it is very easy to make, it is fabulous!  The Piquant sauce adds a sweet/sour flavor to this already perfect masterpiece!!

Melodye Joy’s Meatloaf

  • 2/3 cup dry bread crumbs (I have been using “Panko,” a Japanese breadcrumb ~~ my new favorite, but you can use regular bread crumbs)
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 1/2 lbs. ground beef (I have been buying the “meatloaf” mixture, veal, pork, beef, but you can use ground beef)
  • 2 beaten eggs
  • 1 small onion, grated (I prefer to grate, that way there are no onion pieces, only the flavor)
  • 1/4 cup grated carrots
  • 1 8 oz. can stems/pieces mushrooms, drained
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • dash pepper
  • 4 oz. Monterey Jack cheese, cubed into smallish pieces

Line 9×13 cake pan or glass baking dish with heavy-duty aluminum foil (cuts down on the mess).  Preheat oven to 350.  In large bowl, soak bread crumbs in milk; add meat, beaten eggs, onion, carrots, mushrooms and seasoning.  Grab a pair of disposable gloves if you want to ~~ I do!  Mix well.  Begin to shape.  Tuck cubed cheese into the center of the loaf.  It will be sticky and messy.  You don’t have to be perfect!   Slide into baking dish ~~ re-shape if necessary.  Cover with piquant sauce.  Bake approximately 1 1/4 hour, uncovered.  (Check at 1 hour, but I like cooking for 15 more minutes to be sure 🙂  ).

Piquant Sauce

  • 3-6 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup catsup
  • 1 tsp. dry mustard

Combine until smooth.  Pour over meatloaf.

Leave a Reply

