Stepping Out Of My Comfort Zone

January 17, 2011 at 10:31 am (Singing)

I have been singing since I was three years old.  I don’t know what memories my sisters have (I know some aren’t happy ~~ and I’m sorry for that), but my remembrances are mostly fond.  Dad pushed us to be the best we could be.  I was involved in high school musicals, college musicals, a college group called, “Sound Investment.”  I wanted to sing on broadway.  I auditioned for “Truth” but was too afraid to make the trip.  When I quit college (Dad lost his job in the mines), I came home and joined a family group, “The Christian Diplomats.” 

Singing at New Germany Grove

Playing "Lucy"

 
I was known as a “dramatic soprano.”  That is basically a person with a very loud voice 🙂  Seriously, though, I defined who I was greatly through my voice.  I got married and  had children.   Amanda started to sing and I stopped.  I, instead facilitated her.  I never wanted her to feel she was competing with me.

Last Chorus Concert I accompanied

For 13 years I accompanied the Central Cambria choirs, facilitating young people to sing.  It was such a rewarding experience.
 
Something happened along the way… my voice deteriorated.  I think several things caused this to happen:  the natural aging of my body, my MS, and the fact that I didn’t exercise my gift. 
 
Today I am taking a voice lesson.  I have three requests… that he help me “contemporize” my voice, that I regain, even gain more vocal flexibility, and the ability to control my vibrato.  I don’t know if any of this is possible, but, hey, if I don’t try, I won’t know!!

Singing with my family

All I know is that somewhere along my journey, I’ve lost confidence.  I want to be able to sing again, to sing beautifully, and to enjoy the process!!  I will report on my progress.

1 Comment

  1. Tami Miskanin said,

    I have no doubt that firstly, your voice is still great and secondly, that you will regain your control and your confidence. I do pray for a wonderful process and experience! My voice has really deteriorated as well. I still sing, but have the lost the range and the breath control that I had when I was vocalizing and stretching it. May the Lord regenerate both of our voices:)

Leave a Reply

