How Do You Say Goodbye??

January 23, 2011 at 5:56 pm (Musings...)

Faithful Friend

 

2010 ~~ Tess's last summer (wide smile 🙂 )

It is 4:15 a.m.  I am sitting in the TV room with darling DannyO.  Tess died at 2:54 this morning.  She had been declining, I knew that.   I just thought we’d be bribing her with treats, lifting her back legs for her, carrying her up and down the stairs for a few months longer.  Yesterday she wouldn’t eat, except for a treat or two.  She couldn’t climb the stairs.  Danny carried her up to our bedroom, where she has her night-time blanket, at about 10:30.  I spent some time loving on her, telling her it was okay for her to go when she needed to.  We both fell asleep.  At 1:00, something woke me up.  It was Tess, breathing laboriously.  She had soiled her blankets.  I ran down to get Dan.  We sat with her as she struggled to breathe.  At 1:40 we called our vet friend, Tim to ask if there was anything else we could do.  (Thank you for answering and understanding!)   He said “no.”  He planned to come this morning to put her down if she was still alive.

Her favorite sleeping position

As her breathing became more shallow, she was still recognizing our voices.  We realized she was trying to stay alive because we were talking to her.  We turned off the lights and crawled into bed.  Within 10 minutes she died.

Her "bedtime" blanket

How do you wrap 13 1/2 years of unconditional love into one tome??  You can’t.  Memories flood through my mind.  Like the time she chewed Dan’s brand new, I mean, just out of the box, tennis shoes ~~ just one shoe.  She always had to have a “gift” in her mouth for us when we came home… sometimes two!  Her puppet was her favorite present…  She would “whisper” for a treat.  I spent my days stepping back on her until I got the sweeper out.  Then she would make herself scarce ~~ she was afraid to be swept.  When it was bedtime (9:30 in her book) she would stand by my chair and sigh, really loudly, until I went to bed.  She licked tears away.  She greeted Brent and Amanda with so much love, her body would quiver.  She loved to hear the name “Papap.”   She’d run to the window when we said “Papap” was coming.   She loved to stick her nose into holes… you never knew what she would find!!   Tess barked at the squirrels on the bird feeder ~~ once for one treat ~~ that’s how she rolled!!   She was fiercely protective of us, always ready to bristle if she thought we needed protected.   She loved bites of lunchmeat, cheese, grapes, the crusts from pies, pizzas… pretty much anything we ate, she ate.   Tess was #12 on my “100 things” list.

The last picture I took of Tess -- 1-11-11 ~~ via cell phone

How do you say goodbye?    The memories of the unconditional love she gave us envelopes me like the blue blanket we lovingly wrapped her in one last time early this morning.   Sweet friend, we will miss you 😦

9 Comments

  1. Danielle said,

    Ugh, so sorry. Your the second person I know who’s dog has died in the past couple of weeks. So sad for you.

  2. Becky said,

    The memories are precious and stay with us for decades. It’s okay to cry until you laugh or laugh until you cry. Regardless, the stories will continue. Tess’ life with you will be remembered with love, kindness, and happiness. Bill and I are so sorry for your loss.

  3. brownswissmomma said,

    No melodye you will never forget her, she will always hold a special place in your heart.

  4. Nancy said,

    Oh Mel, I am so sorry. Tess was such a sweet dog. I do hope you and Dan are doing ok. The loss of such a good faithful friend is so difficult. God blessed you with this friendly animal that touched your hearts.
    Nancy

    • Zoanna said,

      Melodye, I am so sorry, I feel your sadness intensely , as we said goodbye to our golden retriever, Molly, on Jan 7th. Dogs are gifts from God, that’s all there is to it. A precious, priceless gift.

  5. heather baker said,

    I will miss hearing her come and bark at the door when I would make my few stop ins. When she heard my voice, I guess I sounded enough like you that she knew I was okay. Then Tess would bring me her rope toy and I would say “do you want a treat?”. She would lumber over to her treat jar and look at it and me like, “are you gonna give me one or were you just teasing me?” Your house will not be the same without her. She passed knowing you and Dan loved her and she went in peace. Love you!
    Heather Jill

  6. Hazel Anthony said,

    Hi Melodye,

    I felt so sad reading about Tess and I send you my love. I know what it is like losing a dear pet. They are a special member of the family. My heart goes out to you.

    Rember all the good times you shared with Tess.

    Big hugs, Hazel

  7. Tabitha said,

    we are very sorry for your loss. sending positive thoughts & memories of Tess to you.

  8. Meet “Blueberry Hill Jazmine” | Melodyejoy's Weblog said,

    […] sweet Tessapoo died on January 23, 2011. My Post, “How Do You Say Goodbye.”   I vowed we’d never have another dog.  My heart was so broken, I didn’t know if I […]

Leave a Reply

