Yummy Peanut Butter Cookies

January 29, 2011 at 2:21 pm (Recipes)

Peanut Butter Cookies and Coffee ~~ A magical combination!

This peanut butter cookie recipe came in a book my Aunt Agnes gave me as a wedding gift in 1980.  I have made no additions to this recipe as it is perfect!  I usually do not add the salt, because I find the peanut butter is salty enough.  I always use “Jif” peanut butter.   I do not suggest using butter as a substitute for shortening.  It makes the cookie too “oily.”  These are a great comfort snack!

 Peanut Butter Cookies

  • 1 cup shortening
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 ½ cup flour
  • 1 ½ tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • ½ tsp. salt (optional) 

Blend shortening, peanut butter and sugar.  Add vanilla and eggs.  Sift all dry ingredients together and mix in.  Roll into 1-inch balls and flatten with fork.  (I dip the fork into some sugar and flatten each cookie in an X pattern ).  For a little more crunch, I put a few sugar crystals on each flattened cookie.  Bake on an ungreased sheet (I use parchment paper) for 12 minutes at 350.

1 Comment

  1. Bobbie Koelsch said,

    Melodye,
    I will have to give this a try. I made your meatloaf recipe the other night and my family absolutely loved it. I did have to leave out the mushrooms though as I can’t eat them but it was the best and definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing.
    Bobbie Koelsch

Leave a Reply

