MS and Menopause

February 10, 2011 at 6:12 pm (Multiple Sclerosis, Musings...)

I have not had a full night’s sleep since Tess died on the 23rd of January.  I am 51 years old and in the throes of menopause.  Hot flashes occur at least once each hour.  Anyone who has had them understands.  Sweat forms on my forehead, above my lip, behind my knees, down my back.  I throw off my pajamas.  About 10 minutes later, I am freezing.  I search for my clothes (usually out of reach).  I put them back on.  Attempt to fall asleep.  One hour later, repeat the exercise in futility.

Last week I had some MS tremors.  The tremors morphed into back spasms.  Between the back spasms and hot flashes… well, you get the picture 😦

This morning it all caught up with me.  I slept fitfully until 9:00 a.m.  I staggered to the coffee pot and made a pot of coffee.  At about 10:30 a.m. the fatigue hit me.  I climbed  back into bed.  An hour later I got up, put supper in the crockpot, baked brownies and made some jello.  I also spent some time organizing my cupboards (I use the Flylady plan).  Once the brownies were baked, I sampled them and crawled back into bed.   An hour later I got up, did my Pilates and took a shower.  I am working on prepping my art seminar piece and have contemporary choir rehearsal tonight.  I cannot take any more meds for the spasms until I get home tonight.

I can’t wait to crawl back into bed tonight… Welcome to my life!

I really should get an “A” for effort!

Leave a Reply

