Happy Valentine’s Day Darling DannyO

February 13, 2011 at 7:44 pm (Musings...)

Dan and I met at Buck and Mary Devlin’s wedding in November of 1979.  I sang and he was a groomsman.  As he tells the story, he was pushing John Rose in a wheelchair into the fire hall, which we were decorating, and I was “dancing on the table.”  Really I wasn’t!  I was hanging a paper bell from the ceiling.  My first memory of meeting him is not what he necessarily said, but that he was confident, had a beautiful smile, long blond hair, and wore a great cowboy hat!  We spent the rest of the evening at the Devlin’s farm, swapping stories.  AJ told the best ever about the “Persian Cow!”  Dan and I talked and talked.

We spent most of the wedding reception dancing together.   I made a beautiful green dress that had a deep scoop in the back.  It was about a size 2!!   He told me my dress was on “backwards!”   My Mom and Dad saw us together and Mom told me that Daddy said to her, “I don’t think I’m ready for this!”  He could see the sparks flying.

I was singing with my family at the time and Dan fit right in.  He started to run sound and provided the muscle needed to move all of the heavy sound equipment.   Mom and Dad embraced him into our family of girls.  Heather loved him and he teased her unmercifully!   He taught me how to drive a standard ~~ with his new Ford F150 ~~ now THAT’s Love!!

Because of circumstances, we were unable to really date until March of 1980.  We were married in May.  I wouldn’t recommend that for most people, but it worked for us.  He loved the Lord ~~ he was a young, growing Christian.  He had a good job.  We loved each other.

I tell people that DannyO is truly one of the good guys.  Our love has passed the test of time… the good, bad and ugly times.  We have one another’s back.  He is my friend.  He makes me laugh.  He buys me chocolate.  He tolerates my NASCAR obsession.  He encourages my singing.  He takes art classes with me.  He makes a great cup of coffee.  He loves me through the valleys that my physical problems cause.   I can’t imagine life without him.  I love him.

Happy Valentine’s Day, darling DannyO!

1980

Leave a Reply

