A Very Excellent Dinner

March 15, 2011 at 6:38 pm (Recipes)

Darling DannyO has been working late for a few weeks now.  This is probably the only evening he will be home at supper time.  Last night I told him we had a few steaks in the freezer and I would make him a fabulous dinner.  I should have looked closer at the meat in the freezer.  It was a sirloin tip roast, not a few steaks.  I always have problems with “toughness” when I make a tip or eye roast.  Being very internet savy (not!), I googled “how to – tender sirloin tip roast.”  I found many tips that required the roast to be slow-cooked.  It was 1:00 p.m.  There was no slow cooking for my roast.  I found a “fast” recipe.  It wasn’t a recipe, really, just some basic instructions.  I will make it a recipe.

Very Excellent, Tender Sirloin Tip Roast

  • Sirloin tip, eye of the round, roast, 2 – 6 lbs.
  • Canola oil
  • Worcestershire sauce
  • Salt/pepper
  • 1 tsp Onion powder
  • 1 tsp Garlic powder
  • Cast iron skillet (you can substitute a baking dish, but I like my skillet 🙂 )

Take roast out to bring to room temperature.  Preheat oven to 500 degrees.  Brush canola oil and worcestershire sauce on both sides of the roast.  Season with the salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder.  When oven reaches 500 (I put the skillet in the oven to preheat also), put the roast in the oven.  Bake 10 minutes per pound (8 minutes if you like rare meat).  After the first phase (mine was 2 pounds/20 minutes), turn off the oven.  Keep the door closed and bake an additional 10 minutes per pound with oven off. Take the roast out of the oven and let it  rest, covered with aluminum foil, for a few minutes.  Cut against the grain in thin slices.  Serve with horseradish sauce.  I baked my roast 10 minutes with oven on, but when I do it again, I will bake it 8 minutes per pound.  We like our meat a bit rarer.  The 10 minutes/pound with oven off doesn’t change.

Here’s how I timed it.  I preheated the oven to 400 degrees.  I cleaned, pierced and oiled (with canola oil) 4 baking  potatoes.  I put them in a piece of foil on the oven rack.  I also put the cast iron skillet beside the potatoes.   After 20 minutes, I jacked the temperature up to 500.  When it reached that temperature, I put the roast in the preheated oven.  40 minutes later (20 minutes with oven on, 20 minutes with oven off), both the potatoes and roast were finished.   I served them with corn and sourdough bread.

I made a lemon meringue pie for dessert.  I will share with you my fail-proof meringue recipe.

 

Very Excellent!

Very Excellent Meringue

  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup cold water

Combine the 2 tblsps. sugar and 1 tblsp. cornstarch in a small saucepan.  Add cold water.  Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly until the mixture is thick and clear (It doesn’t become clear as soon as it boils.  You must continue to stir a bit longer.)  Cool completely (in fridge).

At this point, make the crust (understand that most pudding pies require the crust to be pre-baked) and the filling ~~ whatever pie you want to make (I use the Watkins lemon pudding and pie filling mix).

Continuing the meringue…

  • 3 egg whites
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 6 tablespoons sugar

Beat egg whites with salt and vanilla until soft mounds form.  Gradually add 6 tablespoons of sugar, one at a time, mixing well after each tablespoon.  Add the completely cooled cornstarch mixture and continue beating until meringue stands in stiff peaks.  Heap meringue onto pie filling; spreading to seal the meringue onto the edge of the crust.  Bake at 375 for 12-15 minutes or until golden brown.

I love it when a plan comes together!!

2 Comments

  1. brownswissmomma said,

    I also discovered to make a roast very tender to bring it to room temp first. Not something that they advertise because of the “danger” of salmonella, but the meat will be cooked after….Nothing tastes like a good roast 🙂

  2. Melodye Olsavsky said,

    I agree ~~ I put that as part of this recipe. I figure there isn’t a danger if it is then cooked! Remember all the food that just sat out when we were growing up?? We probably developed iron stomachs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

