Before And After ~~ Weekend Project #1

March 22, 2011 at 10:59 am (Decorative Painting)

Last weekend Darling DannyO went fishing with his buddy, Dave.  I knew I had almost 2 1/2 days to start and (hopefully) finish a project.  I started TWO projects.  Neither was finished on Sunday evening, but I did complete the little side table yesterday.  I have been inspired by what I’ve been reading in Design*Sponge’s blog. This is my “before and after.”

$9.99 at Goodwill

My Happy Blue Endtable

I know it is very blue ~~ but that was an “on purpose.”  I removed the hardware and sanded well.  I then took an old white candle, broke it in half and rubbed on the design ~~ where I wanted the chipped/crackled effect.  I then painted two coats of  Benjamin Moore’s poolside blue.  I allowed it to dry overnight.  Sunday I started to sand and chip.  I wanted the look to be very, very distressed.  I painted the little design on the inside panel.  I wire-brushed the hardware and used a brass cleaner on it.  The hardware is not perfect, but that was my point.  I then put 2 coats of paste wax on the whole piece and re-attached the hardware.

Very, very distressed look

The decorative paint treatment ~~ not sure if I'm 100% happy with it... I may change it

5 Comments

  1. Amanda said,

    Love Love Love this Melodye!! That bright blue is featured in so many accents in my house too, it’s such a fun happy color. 🙂

  2. Melodye Olsavsky said,

    Thanks! I am re-painting the insert. I thought it was too dark and after living with it for a day – it is! It will only take an hour or so to fix it. You should have seen DannyO’s face when he came home and saw the color. He’s a good sport ~~ I don’t think he would have wanted our kitchen table painted that color!

  3. Danielle said,

    Wow! Great job! Have you read thenester.com? You might like that too . . .

  4. Melodye Olsavsky said,

    Thanks, Danielle. Yes, I actually found her through you 🙂 I’m always looking for inspiration. The color is such a pretty turquoise blue that just looking at it makes me smile. I’m not sure where it is going… I will find a corner somewhere!!

  5. brownswissmomma said,

    We like our colors 🙂

Leave a Reply

