I do believe, I do believe, I do believe, I do believe

April 11, 2011 at 10:53 am (Musings...)

I sang a solo in church yesterday.  I accompanied myself on the piano.  Many of you know that I have been having some vocal issues.   I started working with Daniel Teadt in January.  He is helping me to sing again.  Part of the process is to deconstruct first, make corrections, then build on a new foundation.  I believe I am still in the “deconstructing” stage.  There was a need for a song for the offering.  Pastor Dave was talking about the presence of God.  I knew I had the perfect song, so I spoke up…  then I got scared to death!!

Plodding forward, I worked on the accompaniment (it went from C to Db to D).  *check.  I worked on the first verse ~~ especially the G that is in that weird part of my range *check.  The choruses were both easy for me to sing, in both C and Db  ~~ I was in the meat of my range (I’m a soprano ~~ my great range starts at A above middle C).  I sang, critiqued, fixed, sang, critiqued, fixed.  Then I started praying.  I was scared to death!!

I used to be identified by my voice.  It was high, it was strong, it was big.  I could belt.  Now I sometimes have trouble controlling my vibrato.  I have a tendency to sing from “behind my tongue” instead of pushing the air into my “mask” and through at the roof of my mouth…  TMI, I know, but these are the issues I am having.

We were always singing

Belting songs as "Lucy"

Singing with "Operation Barnabas" in 1976

I sang yesterday, cracked vessel that I am, and God used me.  The accompaniment went well (my friend, Carol, said, “Could you have picked a harder song to play?” ~~ love, love my witty friend, Carol).  There were some things I could have done better singing-wise, but that’s okay.  I’m still deconstructing.  My goal is to sing well one more time in my life.  But, yesterday was proof-positive that God uses our feeble efforts to further his kingdom.  I do believe, I do believe, I do believe!!!

 

 

 

1 Comment

  1. brownswissmomma said,

    Love the do believe 🙂

Leave a Reply

