The Mutterings of a Madwoman

May 2, 2011 at 12:40 pm (Jewelry, Multiple Sclerosis, Musings..., MVD)

I haven’t blogged in a while.  That means that I haven’t done anything stupendous worth blogging about.  I muddled through April.  I must give myself a break.  I need to talk to myself as if I was talking to my friend, Juel, giving myself props for just functioning.  I did get some good news.  That crazy neurologist, Dr. Pokharna, who told me I had mental issues, not MS, after consulting with my neurosurgeon, Dr. Bowles, has reached the conclusion that I do have MS…  Small victory!  Yay!  I am still going to make an appointment with another neurologist.

I am still struggling with chronic pain.  I do all that I can, exercising, moving, to help, but sometimes it just does me in.  It wears me down.  My pain management doctor gave me a prescription for Neurontin.  I am to take one pill at bedtime for 5 days, working up to 3 a day.  I don’t know if I can do that.  The 1 pill, even at bedtime, puts me in an altered state.  I don’t think I can/will take them during the day.  I hate the fact that I even need meds that I vowed I would NEVER take.  Be careful what you say 🙂

I am also eating way too much.  I am on the high end of what I like to weigh.  I decided yesterday to sort of take the “Special K Challenge.”  I am not registering on the site, but have decided to follow their plan.  It is simple and Lord knows I need simple.  I will report on my success 🙂

I also won a little contest.  Smarter.com is a website I look at for the trends, mostly because I design jewelry but also because I love shoes and clothing!  Their blogs are fun to read, filled with ideas even for an old lady like me!    I won a swing dress from Gaiam.com and a “fair market” turquoise necklace.    They will mail me my prizes, then I must take pictures of myself in the winnings.  I don’t win things, mostly because I don’t play the lottery or really enter contests…  I may have to re-think my contest entering.  🙂

I finished a bracelet this weekend for my sister’s mother-in-law, Mrs. P.  She gave me a box full of old jewelry and asked just that I make her a bracelet from a pair of earrings.  Once I took the earring backs off, I didn’t know what to do!  I started and stopped on this design about 4 times.  The earrings are from the 80’s and are triangle-shaped plastic with nothing to attach the wire to.  I had to figure out how to make it work.  I am also learning to work with seed beads.  I love the color freedom I have working with these little beads.

Mrs. P's bracelet

Seed Bead bracelet

A better look at the lattice work on top of the seed beading peyote stitch

I will try to blog more in the month of May.  Perhaps I will do something stupendous.  The Lord is working in my heart all the time, as I wade through the disruptive pain that is my life!!   I am working to be proactive when it comes to issues that the Lord bring to the forefront of my heart and character.  Right now, though, I’m going to take a nap!

Leave a Reply

