Trigeminal Neuralgia, Multiple Sclerosis and Blessings

May 12, 2011 at 5:03 pm (Beautiful Things, Multiple Sclerosis, MVD, Trigeminal Neuralgia)

Last Thursday I felt better than I had in months.  Approximately 6 weeks ago, I started to feel “twinges” on the right side of my face, my nose was ice cold and I had the “pins and needles” sensation.  These came and went, so I mostly ignored them.  After Contemporary Choir rehearsal last Thursday I was absolutely slammed with pain, above my eye, in my jaw and across my cheek.  I never, ever thought that the TN could come back.  I never “googled” anything about pain after MVD surgery.  The pain, intense pain, lasted through the weekend.  On Monday, the pain lifted a bit and I researched what was happening to me.  According to what I read, 31-36% of people with TN do have recurring pain; those with MS have an even higher percentage.  I have some really great meds, but I cannot drive or function when I take them.  However, I realized that I needed to get a handle on this, so, Friday through Tuesday I took copious amounts (within the prescribed limits).  By Wednesday, I started to feel a bit better.  Right now, I still have the pain, but it is tolerable.

Yesterday I stopped in our local Goodwill.  I hit the proverbial jackpot!  I got a pair of “Sporto” winter boots for $2.99.  I got a pretty summer dress for $9.99 (the tags were still on it, originally $90).  I also picked up this beautiful, what I assumed was mid-century ice pitcher for $8.99.

Pretty Pitcher

Once at home, I researched the pitcher.  It is a beautiful pale aqua/seafoam green (it is a bit greener/bluer than the pictures shows).  The bottom has “Universal…Oven proof, Union Made in USA, Ballerina Mist,” with a stamp of a ballerina.  It is a mid-century piece worth $35-$50.  There was a whole dinnerware set, complete with a 5-piece accessory set on the shelf.  I didn’t look hard at it yesterday because I was just drawn to the pitcher ~~ I also had spent my $$ limit 🙂  Anyway, I came home and when Danny came home, he loved the pitcher.  When I told him about the whole set, he asked why I didn’t pick it up.

All evening and through this morning, I kept thinking about that set.  Finally Dan said, “just go up and see if it’s still there!”  So I did ~~ it was!  It is a perfect 8-place/5-piece setting with 8 cereal bowls, a cake plate, covered bowl, serving bowl and sugar and creamer.  I paid $51.00 for the rest of the set.

A place setting: one of the little bowls and the accessories

I have no idea what I’m going to do with this, but it makes me happy :-))

See… little blessings.  I consider this a blessing.

This little pottery piece was $2.99 at Goodwill too.  I got it a few weeks ago.

 

It too is in perfect shape.  The bottom of this reads, “CALIF USA L83.”  I was unable to find an exact match on the Internet.

I don’t know what my physical future holds.  I need to see my neurologist.  However, I am happy for the blessings of beautiful things ~~ I truly am blessed.  AND, I didn’t have to spend much $$.

1 Comment

  1. Overcoming Illness With Joy said,

    I’m glad your neuralgia cleared up! I have had to get steroid injections a few times, but finally got the bright idea to ask my neurologist what things I could do to avoid it. It does hurt! I have it happen mostly in the occipital nerve, so it meant only sleeping on one pillow. I hope your visit goes well. And I love your purchases ~ beautiful!

Leave a Reply

