Creamy Lemon Fudge

August 31, 2011 at 4:06 pm (Recipes)

I love fudge, I love lemons. I saw this recipe at Taste of Home. It is simple, but there are a few “tips” I will give at the end of the recipe. I did not have an 8×8 pan so I used a 9×9 pan. When I make it again, I will use the smaller pan so the fudge is more substantial.

Ingredients

* 1-1/2 teaspoons plus 1/2 cup unsalted butter, divided
* 1 package (4.3 ounces) cook-and-serve lemon pudding mix
* 1/2 cup cold 2% milk
* 3-3/4 cups confectioners’ sugar
* 1 teaspoon lemon extract

Directions

* Line an 8-in. square pan with foil. Grease the foil with 1-1/2 teaspoons butter; set aside.
* In a large heavy saucepan, combine the pudding mix, milk and 1/2 cup unsalted butter. Cook and stir over medium heat until thickened. Remove from the heat. Beat in confectioners’ sugar and extract. Pour into prepared pan; refrigerate until set.
* Using foil, lift fudge out of pan. Discard foil; cut fudge into 1-in. squares. Store in the refrigerator. Yield: about 1-1/2 pounds.

** Melodye’s notes

  • I used Durkee Lemon Flavor Pie filling and pudding ~~ 4 oz package.  Do not use instant pudding.
  • I did not use 1 1/2 tsps. of butter to grease the pan.  I lined the pan with non-stick Reynolds wrap.  Worked like a charm.
  • The recipe says to cook until thickened.  After it thickened, I cooked it for an additional 1 minute.  (one of the comments on the recipe page was that one woman couldn’t get the fudge to set up.  She probably undercooked it)
  • I used whole milk.  I had skim milk too but was afraid it wouldn’t thicken properly.
  • I made some lemon rind ribbons, sugar coated them and put them on top of the fudge.  Next time I will make more lemon rind ribbons and make sure each piece has a little pile on top.

I was afraid it would be too lemony and have an “aftertaste.”  It did not.  It was light.  It was sugary.  It was wonderful!  I will make it again!  Here is the link to the Taste of Home page:  Creamy Lemon Fudge

1 Comment

  1. frugalfeeding said,

    This sounds awesome. I love fudge so much, but I have to avoid it or I eat too much. With lemon it must be irresistible.

Leave a Reply

