Polka-dot Lining and Other Things

November 6, 2011 at 1:09 pm (Musings...)

purplecoat-2

My purple coat’s polka-dot lining

My purple coat is moving along nicely. As you can see in the photo, the lining is in. The only things left to do are to hem the coat and sew the buttonholes and add the buttons… and make the belt. Whew! I have more to do than I thought!

DannyO and I drove to NoVA yesterday to meet my daughter’s fiance’s parents, Joe and Lily. We had such a marvelous time. We ate lunch and then walked through the shops of Occoquan, VA. I bought some beads at the bead store and, as usual, Danny got lost in the Christmas Shoppe.

While we were having lots of fun, my email accounts, both of them, and my FB account were seriously hacked. According to the emails, I was stuck in London and needed money. The scary thing is that the hacker even sent a follow-up email when my friends replied to the first one. I was able to get the IP address of the hackers, located in NY; not that I know what to do next 😦 . Anyone who knows me, knows that I was in Virginia for the weekend and NOT in London.

I have several layers of security. There was no virus on my computer. I have spent two hours this morning changing passwords and setting up a new email account. If it can happen to me, it can happen to anybody. My FB account and yahoo accounts have been frozen. I do not know if/when I am going to re-open them. I don’t play any of the Farmville games or open anything that looks suspicious. The only thing I did wrong when we left at 8:30 yesterday morning was to not disconnect my internet connection. Believe me, I won’t make that mistake again!! They used my account at 9:49 and 11:30 and early afternoon.

I am dealing with more serious issues right now. Remember my last blog post? I was transposing letters and typing phonetically. I was in that state for about three hours and then it went away. I saw my neurologist on Friday. He is concerned, but not panicked. I am going to go and get a few tests run in the next few weeks to see what may be wrong.

I think I have everything sorted out. I may or may not be able to get into my yahoo mail account. If you want my email address, please comment on this post with your email address and if I know you 🙂 I will send you my new address.

Never a dull moment, I suppose!

2 Comments

  1. Esther said,

    mel make sure I have your correct email address…also I posted a link to this blog but didn’t know if there were other friends on fb you wanted to contact with your information…send me their names and I will do it. Miss you seriously on FB, Sister Esther…I sound like a nun 🙂

  2. E.M. Larson said,

    I feel your pain, Melodye. Somebody hacked into my e-mail account. Sent weird e-mails that almost everyone who knew me KNEW I didn’t send. I first had to change my password and then saw that these hackers weren’t even in this country. Why do they do this? Why don’t they use their talents to do something more positive? I don’t know and have no answer. But, I will tell you that I now am more pro-active about running the security programs on my PC at the very least DAILY. I use AVAST for my firewall, it is a FREE product, although you can buy an upgraded version of AVAST that has more protection. I also use ZONE ALARM. This alerts you when you go to sites and YOU either allow or dis-allow your PC to connect. I also run SUPER ANTI SPYWARE. I run this daily when I am done online. This program locates and removes the adware you pick up when you surf online. There is also another program I use that is called CRAP CLEANER. LOL, it really works well and you can get this for free from Piriform. All of these programs are FREE and work great against the hackers. The ever present battle, we must go to such great lengths to protect our privacy! If you need any help with any of the above mentioned programs, do not hesitate to drop me a line and I will help you as I am able.

    Just so you have it, my e-mail address is: e_m_larson@sbcglobal.net

    Much LOVE, Cousin Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

