Creative Juices are flowing!

November 27, 2011 at 3:35 pm (Musings...)

Okay, so my Facebook account is still disabled… 22 days later! I actually got an email/survey from them yesterday asking me to “rate” their handling of my problem. Since they haven’t even fixed my problem they didn’t get a great review. Hopefully they will actually READ WHAT I WROTE and try to help me. I still say, with a name like “Melodye Olsavsky” there is only one Facebook account. I answered the secret questions correctly and have gotten to the final step of getting my account back but continue to get a “something went wrong, please try again later” message.

I am not wasting any energy on my FB situation (although it may seem I am!).

I went for an echo cardiogram, a corroded artery test and an MRI. The technicians for the first two tests said that, while they weren’t the final judge of the tests, my heart and arteries look good. The technician for the MRI asked me if I had a follow-up with my neurologist, said that I needed a follow-up. I can only rest in the Lord and the Word He gave me on Monday during our marathon All Church Choir Thanksgiving rehearsal. My spirit heard (or I audibly heard… I can’t clarify that), “by My stripes you are healed.”

We had a great visit with our kiddos. They hate it when I call them “kiddos” because they are 29 and almost 26, but I birthed them and owned the air they breathed for about 20 years each and I can call them whatever I want to! My Daddy and Momma came up for our meal. The turkey was beautifully brined and roasted. The sweet potatoes were… wonderfully sweet! I made my two pumpkin pies, one with cream cheese and one basic recipe. My boy kiddo washed about 85 loads of laundry stuffed into 8 loads. (I exaggerate, but all Moms understand 20-somethings’ propensity to fill washing machines to the brim!)

Amanda, Juel and I went for Amanda’s first wedding dress alteration appointment on Friday. We also stopped at Joann’s Fabrics. The line was wrapped around the store. I wrote down the numbers for the fabric I would like to use for my MOB (Mother Of the Bride) dress. We enjoyed a great lunch at Red Lobster. Here is a sneak peak of Amanda’s dress.

That’s all I can really share right now! Hengyi will not see the dress until March 24th and Amanda’s Daddy has chosen not to look at the dress either. Darling DannyO is going to be in a puddle when he sees how beautiful she looks! No more information on the style or accessories of her dress will pass my lips until everyone sees her on her wedding day. It will be hard, but I can do it!

Now to the real reason for this blog post. I have been creating! I am knitting, sewing and painting (a bit) and working on some jewelry designs (a few).

I am so proud of my purple coat! It has a very fun polka-dot lining. I only have the buttonholes, buttons and little straps on the sleeves to finish the project. I am knitting a fun scarf — nothing hard, but it is a bit funky for this 52-year old… (I actually showed my girl kiddo how to knit this weekend. She took the beginner book, a ball of yarn and some needles back to VA with her).

Here are a few photos of my purple coat…

Nearly finished


Fun Lining

The “Winter’s Arrival” painting I continue to work on!

Lots of texture and a little glitter 🙂

The scarf I am knitting…

The chunky yarn is called "Mimosa." How can that ever be a bad thing!

Moving forward, always moving forward!

3 Comments

  1. Bobbie Koelsch said,

    I was beginning to wonder what happened to you. I hope you get everything straightened out. I came to your blog to try to find your wonderful meatloaf recipe. My family loves it and I can’t seem to find my print of it. Happy Holidays!

  2. Melodye Olsavsky said,

    Hi Bobbie! Yes, I am lost to FB for a while longer, I think. I am not wasting any energy on it and they really do not help much (as my future son-in-law says, they are not a customer-based organization). If you cannot find the recipe, email me and I will send it to you… melodyejoyolsavsky@gmail.com.

    Have a great Christmas!

  3. bonniepruitt said,

    Hi Mel!
    I miss you on facebook! I’m glad I finally thought of checking out your blog. I just wanted to let you know that I am praying for you even if you don’t hear from me often. I know that the TN has been painful for you again, so I am specifically praying for that right now. If you have any other things you would like me to be praying for, please let me know! You can e-mail me at bunk_bsm@hotmail.com too. Blessings to you!!!
    Love,
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

