Ashley’s Scarf, Beads and My Dress

January 12, 2012 at 3:51 pm (Jewelry, Sewing Projects, Trigeminal Neuralgia)

Some of my last few blog posts are full of despair.   I don’t despair every day, some days I have hope.  Today my house is spotless — the needles from the Christmas tree are all swept up.  The kitchen floor is shiny.  I am enjoying a cup a tea and a (surprise!) bag of M&M’s I found hiding in the cupboard.

My trigeminal neuralgia is acting up, but I am medicating and feel reasonably okay.  I have a high pain tolerance… As an aside, I hate it when the doctor asks me to rate my pain from 1 to 10.  What is he using?  His scale?  My scale?  I haven’t figured that one out.

Okay — the reason for my post.  I knitted a scarf for my son’s girlfriend.  Obviously it is the 12th of January and I am three weeks late, but hey, it’s finished.  I am going to put it in the mail tomorrow.

Ashley's Scarf -- purple stripes

On Sunday I decided to sort my beads into colors.  It is so frustrating to need a bead in a certain color and size and I cannot find it because there is no order to my bead stash.  Now, as a person with a teeny tiny bit of OCD, you can imagine how I can take a task like this and run with it…  four hours later…

Blue-purple, Red-pink, Green-yellow, Brown-black, Gold-silver, Pearl-White, Miscellaneous

I also had a 40% off coupon from Joann’s Fabric burning a hole in my pocket.  I picked up all of the supplies I need to make my fabulous Mother-Of-The-Bride dress.  I have to tell you that Amanda, Juel and I went into Joann’s Fabric on Black Friday, wrote the numbers of the colors we wanted and walked out the door.  Nothing, absolutely nothing would have enticed me to stand in the line that snaked around the store, first by the cutting table and then through the checkout…  Here is the fabric and the pattern… I will blog about its progress…

Shantung and organza -- say a prayer for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

