Peanut Butter (Buckeye) Balls

February 10, 2012 at 3:46 pm (All Things Wedding, Recipes)

I am the kind of person who, at a wedding reception, heads straight to the dessert table!  The main meal can be sub-par, but if the goodies are excellent, I declare the party a success!  Perhaps that is the reason I have decided to make all of the desserts for Amanda and Hengyi’s wedding reception.

I decided to make Peanut Butter Balls.  I found the recipe on the Wit & Whistle blog and “Pinned” it until I could have the time to make them.  I actually made the peanut butter part two days ago.  Fair warning, the recipe says to mix the powdered sugar, butter and peanut butter in a large bowl.  My biggest bowl wasn’t big enough.  I ended up dumping the whole concoction on to the counter top and mixing it there.  I divided the dough into three pieces, wrapped them well in plastic wrap.  They were in the fridge for two days – which didn’t hurt them.

Rolled into walnut-sized balls

I have never used paraffin wax and when I opened the wax box there were four blocks of wax.  I used 1/3 of one of the blocks.  My other suggestion is to shave the wax instead of putting the large chunk into the double boiler because the chocolate chips melted before the paraffin was melted.  Also do not let any water touch the chocolate mixture.  For some reason water causes the chocolate to granulate and not be completely smooth.

Paraffin wax and chocolate chips

I made a mess!

I also discovered that I needed just a little bit more melted chocolate to completely cover all of the peanut butter balls.  I would suggest using ½ of another package of chocolate chips and a few more shavings of paraffin wax.

The recipe made 13 dozen!  I am going to write the original, large recipe first and then am going to give you a smaller recipe!

Yummy!!

Peanut Butter Balls (large recipe)

  • 3 boxes of confectioner sugar (1 lb. each)
  • 4 sticks of unsalted butter (1 lb)
  • 4 cups of peanut butter
  • 3 packages of chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cake paraffin wax (1 ½ inches of one of the four blocks)

Combine the powdered sugar, margarine and peanut butter in a large bowl and mix them with your hands until everything is well blended.  Chill for at least ½ hour (I kept them in the refrigerator for 2 days).

Heat the chocolate chips and paraffin wax in a double boiler until they melt.  Dip the balls into melted chocolate and cool them on wax paper.

Peanut Butter Balls (small recipe)

  • 1 box of confectioner’s sugar
  • 10 2/3 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 1/3 cups peanut butter
  • 1 package of chocolate chips
  • ½ inch of one cake of paraffin wax

Use the same directions as the above recipe.  This one will make about 50 balls instead of 150!

Leave a Reply

